Eleven Submit their Names for District Judge in the Fifth Judicial District

Eleven Submit their Names for District Judge in the Fifth Judicial District

Friday, June 8, 2018

LINCOLN – Krista M. Carlson, Ashland; Ryan C. Gilbride, Lincoln; Demetria W. Herman, Omaha; Thomas J. Klein, Wahoo; Denise J. Kracl, Schuyler; Patrick M. Lee, Kearney; Christina M. Marroquin, Seward; Timothy P. Matas, Columbus; Bryan C. Meismer, Fremont; Jason D. Mielak, Columbus; and Dale M. Shotkoski, Fremont, have submitted applications for appointment as District Judge in the 5th Judicial District consisting of Boone, Butler, Colfax, Hamilton, Merrick, Nance, Platte, Polk, Saunders, Seward, and York counties. The primary place of office for the judicial vacancy will be either Wahoo, Saunders County, Nebraska, or Schuyler, Colfax County, Nebraska. The vacancy is due to the retirement of Judge Mary C. Gilbride.

The public hearing of the Judicial Nominating Commission will be held in the District Court Courtroom, Saunders County Law Enforcement and Judicial Center, 387 N. Chestnut St., Wahoo, Nebraska, beginning at 1:30 p.m., on June 29, 2018. The Commission will review all applicants for the office at that time. The public is welcome to attend the hearing and present information concerning candidates for the judicial opening. Persons, if any, wishing to publicly comment favorably on qualifications should attempt to coordinate with the candidates. Public comments, if any, in opposition to candidates will be received at the hearing.

 A listing of the members of the Judicial Nominating Commission can be found on the Nebraska Judicial Branch Web site at https://supremecourt.nebraska.gov/administration/committees-commissions/judicial-nominating-commission-fifth-district-county/district-court

For special accommodations relating to the Americans with Disabilities Act, please call (402) 471-3730.  For persons with hearing impairments, please call the Nebraska Relay System, 7-1-1. AA/EOE.