Oral Arguments are happening now. View them on the web or via Mobile App on iPhone / iPad or Android (4.0+).

Self-Help Center

You are here

Honorable Patrick R. McDermott

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Honorable Patrick R. McDermott

1997 – present 
Judge of the County Court, 5th Judicial District
(Boone, Butler, Colfax, Hamilton, Merrick, Nance, Platte, Polk, Saunders, Seward, & York counties)

Presiding Judge, 5th Judicial District
1978 – 1997 
Private practice of law
County Attorney (part-time): Perkins, Arthur, Hayes, Logan, & Garden counties
1974 – 1978
Douglas County Public Defender’s Office - Omaha, NE
1969 – 1971
Contractor to NASA, programmer-analyst - College Park, MD
1967 – 1969
Defense Intelligence Agency, intelligence analyst - Washington DC
University of Nebraska, Graduate School, 2009
Masters in Public Administration

Creighton University School of Law, 1974
Juris Doctorate

Creighton University, 1967
Bachelor of Arts
Judicial/Law Related Activities
Professional Affiliations
Nebraska State Bar Association
Nebraska State Bar/Local Attorney Association Committees
Judicial Structure Task Force
Nebraska Supreme Court Committees
Interpreter Advisory Committee
Commission on Children in the Courts
Automation Committee
Through the Eyes of the Child Initiative, lead judge, 5th Judicial District 
Process Re-Engineering Committee, chairman
Nebraska County Judges Association
Legislation Committee, chairperson
National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges
Juvenile and Family Law Advisory Committee
Member of Board of Trustees
Community Activities
Mock Trial Project
Honors and Awards
2007 Nebraska Supreme Court Outstanding Judge for service to the Judiciary: is the highest honor given by the Chief Justice to recognize members of the judiciary for meritorious projects and exemplary accomplishments that enhance the vision of justice within Nebraska communities. 
Commendation, from the Defense Intelligence Agency
Nebraska Association of County Officials - Outstanding Service Award

This page was last modified on Thursday, January 12, 2017