Oral Arguments are happening now. View them on the web or via Mobile App on iPhone / iPad or Android (4.0+).

Self-Help Center

You are here

Exceptional Judicial Branch Employees Recognized by Chief Justice Heavican During Annual Awards Celebration

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Friday, October 5, 2012

Chief Justice of the Nebraska Supreme Court, Mike Heavican, presented nine Employee Recognition Awards to individuals and teams on October 5, 2012, during the Nebraska Supreme Court’s fourth annual recognition event. 

The Employee Recognition Committee selected nine employees and an employee team from the nominations submitted for the Employee Recognition Awards.  Candidates for the awards were chosen and nominated by their supervisors and colleagues in the courts and probation offices where they work. The purpose of the program is to provide a tool to recognize ongoing court and probation employee dedication, acknowledge exemplary contributions, and encourage employee commitment.    

This is the fourth year that the Nebraska Supreme Court has recognized court and probation employees with awards for outstanding job performance and commitment to public service.  Employees were honored by Chief Justice Mike Heavican, Court Administrator Janice Walker, Probation Administrator Ellen Brokofsky and invited guests with a ceremony in the Warner Chamber of the Nebraska State Capitol. 

There are nearly 1,000 employees in the judicial system in court and probation offices statewide.

The awards are the highest honors given by the Nebraska Supreme Court recognizing exemplary performance by court and probation employees in the Nebraska Judicial System.

The 2012 Award Recipients include:

Employee of the Year presented to Ellen Faltys, Clerk Magistrate, Colfax County Court, Schuyler. The award recognizes one employee for his or her performance, professionalism, loyalty and other accomplishments that exemplify the values and professional standards of the Judicial Branch in his or her daily work. 

Outstanding Probation Employee (Jean Miller Memorial Award for Probation Support Staff) presented to Becky Smith, Senior Secretary, District 1 Probation, Wilber. The award recognizes exemplary performance by any probation support staff employee in the Nebraska Judicial System.             

Outstanding Trial or Appellate Court Employee presented to Sandi Peters, Administrative Assistant, Nebraska Supreme Court, Lincoln. This award recognizes exemplary performance by an employee serving in any office of the Trial or Appellate Courts in the Nebraska Judicial System.  The employee’s accomplishments or suggestions can be exhibited either through a sustained work and productivity record of exceptional efficiency, superior performance and dedication over at least a one-year period, or through an exceptional task.  The accomplishments must be beyond normal expectations.  

Outstanding Probation Officer (LaDonna Snell Probation Officer Award) presented to Kathy Long, Senior Probation Officer, District 2 Probation, Papillion. The award recognizes exemplary performance by a Probation Officer. 

Outstanding Court Supervisor/Administrative Employee presented to Darrie Streeter, Clerk Magistrate, Phelps County Court, Holdrege. The award recognizes exemplary performance by a supervisor or administrative employee in the Nebraska Judicial System.

Outstanding Probation Supervisor (Bob Keller Memorial Award for Probation Supervisor) presented to Patty Lyon, Drug Court Coordinator, District 6, Fremont. The award recognizes exemplary performance by a Probation Supervisor. 

Outstanding Customer Service in the Courts Award presented to Jodi Kielian, Records Clerk, Platte County Court, Columbus.  The award recognizes employees who have implemented creative and effective programs that improve customer service to external or internal court/probation customers.  The employee’s individual skills in providing excellent customer service are also considered.

Innovation Award presented to Deborah League, Clerk Magistrate, Dundy County Court, Benkelman, and Linda Smith, Clerk Magistrate, Hitchcock County Court, Trenton.  The award recognizes employees for their contribution of effectiveness, efficiency, or economy to the Nebraska Judicial System operations.             

Outstanding Team Award presented to the Behavioral-Based Case and Caseload Management Training Team:

  • Deb Minardi, Deputy Administrator/Community-Based Programs and Field Services, Office of Probation Administration, Lincoln; Julie M. Scott, Justice Treatment Systems Specialist, Office of Probation Administration, Lincoln; Kari Rumbaugh, Deputy Interstate Compact Administrator, Office of Probation Administration, Lincoln; Amy Latshaw, Juvenile Justice Programs Specialist, Office of Probation Administration, Lincoln; Toni Jensen, Domestic Violence Services Specialist, Office of Probation Administration, Lincoln

    The award recognizes exemplary performance by a team in any judicial office in the Nebraska Judicial System. 

    More detailed information on award winners and their exemplary work is available at:


Individual photos of award recipients will be available October 9, 2012.  email: janet.bancroft@nebraska.gov

This page was last modified on Tuesday, October 16, 2012