Oral Arguments are happening now. View them on the web or via Mobile App on iPhone / iPad or Android (4.0+).

Self-Help Center

You are here

Judicial Resources Commission to Hold Annual Meeting

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Thursday, November 15, 2012

The Judicial Resources Commission will hold its annual meeting pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 24-1205 to determine whether (1) a new judgeship is appropriate in any judicial district or a reduction in judgeships is appropriate in any judicial district, or (2) the judicial district boundaries or the number of judicial districts should be changed for the district or county courts. The Commission shall also examine current caseload statistics and make any appropriate recommendations for the more balanced use of existing judicial resources.


The Commission will also determine, pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 24-1204, whether, based on the judicial workload statistics, a judicial vacancy exists in the office of county judge of the 12th Judicial District, due to the retirement of the Honorable Charles Plantz, effective December 31, 2011.


The hearing is scheduled for Tuesday, December 11, 2012, at 10:00 a.m., central time. The hearing will be held via video conferencing from the State Capitol Building, Room 1507, Lincoln, Nebraska, and will include participation from the following sites: (1) State Office Building, Room 207, 2nd Floor, 1313 Farnam Street, Omaha, Nebraska; and (2) Panhandle Research & Extension Center, 4502 Avenue I, High Plains Room, Scottsbluff, Nebraska.


Any member of the public is entitled to attend the Nebraska Judicial Resources Commission hearing in Room 1507 of the State Capitol, Lincoln, Nebraska, and present, either orally or in writing, any pertinent information concerning the existence of a judicial vacancy.


Following the hearing, the Commission will make a recommendation to the Legislature of its determination.


Commission members are:


Supreme Court Justice Michael McCormack, Chairperson 
Riko E. Bishop, LincolnRichard Carter, Bellevue
Mike Day, OmahaThomas F. Hoarty, Omaha
Jayne Mann, Aurora  Wayne J. Mark, Omaha
Steven F. Mattoon, SidneyPatrick R. McDermott, Schuyler
Robert B. O'Neal, PapillionRobert J. Parker, Hastings
Brian Phares, North PlatteJohn E. Samson, Fremont
Lori Scherer, BeemerAmy Schlichting, Lincoln
Mark M. Sipple, Columbus

Darlene Starman, Lincoln

For special accommodations relating to the Americans with Disabilities Act, please call (402) 471-3730. For persons with hearing impairments, please call the Nebraska Relay System at 711.

This page was last modified on Thursday, November 15, 2012