Oral Arguments are happening now. View them on the web or via Mobile App on iPhone / iPad or Android (4.0+).

Self-Help Center

You are here

Site Addition for Judicial Resources Commission Hearing

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Friday, May 11, 2012

An additional video conferencing site has been added to the upcoming hearing of the  Judicial Resources Commission. The hearing is scheduled for Tuesday, June 5, 2012, at 10:00  a.m. central time. The hearing will be held via video conferencing from the Nebraska State  Capitol, Room 1507, Lincoln, Nebraska, and will include participation from the following sites:  (1) Hastings Public Library, Second Floor, 517 West 4th Street, Hastings, Nebraska; (2) Omaha  State Office Building, 1313 Farnam Street, Room 207, Second Floor, Omaha, Nebraska; (3)  Educational Service Unit #16, 1221 West 17th Street, Distance Learning Room, North Platte,  Nebraska; (4)  Panhandle Research & Extension Center, 4502 Avenue I, High Plains Room,  Scottsbluff, Nebraska; and (5) Chadron State College, 10th and Main Streets,  Miller #103,  Chadron, Nebraska.

The Judicial Resources Commission will hold a public hearing pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat.  § 24-1204 to determine the following:

(1)  Whether, based on the judicial workload statistics, a judicial vacancy exists in the  office of county judge of the 8th Judicial District, due to the retirement of the Honorable Gary G.  Washburn, effective May 31, 2012, and make a recommendation to the Supreme Court as to the  primary place of office of said vacancy.

(2) Whether, based on the judicial workload statistics, a judicial vacancy exists in the  office of county judge of the 12th Judicial District, due to the retirement of the Honorable Charles  Plantz, effective December 31, 2011.

(3) Whether, based on the judicial workload statistics, a new juvenile judgeship should be  created in the Separate Juvenile Court of Douglas County.

The commission makes its determination based on weighted caseloads, adequate access to  the courts by litigants, population, judicial duties, travel time and other factors necessary to assure  efficiency and service of the court system.  

Following the hearing, the commission will make a recommendation to the Legislature of  their determination.

Commission members are:

Supreme Court Justice Michael McCormack, Chairperson

Riko E. Bishop, Lincoln Richard Carter, Bellevue
Mike Day, Omaha Thomas F. Hoarty, Omaha
Jayne Mann, Aurora Wayne J. Mark, Omaha
Steven F. Mattoon, Sidney Patrick R. McDermott, Schuyler
Robert B. O'Neal, Papillion Robert J. Parker, Hastings
Brian Phares, North Platte John E. Samson, Fremont
Lori Scherer, Beemer Amy Schlichting, Lincoln
Mark M. Sipple, Columbus Darlene Starman, Lincoln

Any member of the public is entitled to attend the Nebraska Judicial Resources  Commission hearing in Room 1507 of the State Capitol, Lincoln, Nebraska, and present, either  orally or in writing, any pertinent information concerning the existence of a judicial vacancy. If  anyone wishes to present written material at the hearing, a copy of such material should be  furnished to the Chairperson at least one week prior to the hearing.

For special accommodations relating to the Americans with Disabilities Act, please call  (402) 471-3730. For persons with hearing impairments, please call the Nebraska Relay System at  711.

This page was last modified on Wednesday, May 16, 2012