Oral Arguments are happening now. View them on the web or via Mobile App on iPhone / iPad or Android (4.0+).

Self-Help Center

You are here

Six Submit their Names for Court of Appeals Judge in the Third Judicial District

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Friday, May 25, 2012


LINCOLN –Mark A. Johnson, Norfolk; Stephen W. Kay, North Platte; Hon. Kenneth J. Vampola, Arlington; and Susan A. Anderson, Francie C. Riedmann, James D. Smith, all of Omaha; have submitted applications for appointment as Court of Appeals Judge in the Third Judicial District. The vacancy is due to the appointment of Judge William B. Cassel to the Supreme Court bench. The Third Judicial District consists of Antelope, Boone, Boyd, Burt, Cedar, Cuming, Dakota, Dixon, Dodge, Holt, Knox, Madison, Pierce, Platte, Stanton, Thurston, Washington, Wayne, and Wheeler Counties, in addition to portions of Douglas and Sarpy Counties.

The public hearing of the Judicial Nominating Commission will be held in the District Courtroom at the Platte County Courthouse, 2610 14th Street, in Columbus, Nebraska, beginning at 10:00 a.m. on Thursday, June 14, 2012. The Commission will review all applicants for the office at that time. The public is welcome to attend the hearing and present information concerning candidates for the judicial opening. A listing of the members of the Judicial Nominating Commission can be found on the Nebraska Judicial Branch Web site at http://www.supremecourt.ne.gov/commissions/jncaj3-roster.shtml.

For special accommodations relating to the Americans with Disabilities Act, please call (402) 471-3730. For persons with hearing impairments, please call the Nebraska Relay System, 7-1-1. AA/EOE.

This page was last modified on Friday, May 25, 2012