Oral Arguments are happening now. View them on the web or via Mobile App on iPhone / iPad or Android (4.0+).

Self-Help Center

You are here

Composition of the Nebraska Judicial Nominating Commissions

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Each commission is comprised of nine members. The Governor appoints four nonlawyers, no more than two of whom may be from the same political party, and the Nebraska State Bar Association elects four attorneys, no more than two of whom may be from the same political party. The Chief Justice or a justice of the Supreme Court chairs each commission. Alternate members are available for commission members who may need to resign.

Commissions have lawyer and nonlawyer members to assure the participation of interested civic and community leaders from both the legal community and the community at large. Lawyer commission members have an obvious interest, apart from their status as citizens, in the selection of quality judges. Nonlawyer commission members serve an important role in the nomination process by representing the interests of the general public.

All members of the commission, except the chairperson, are voting members. The commissioners are appointed to four-year terms and are limited to eight consecutive years of service. Alternate's terms of office are for four years. Commissioners are not paid for their work, but they may receive reimbursement for any necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their duties.

This page was last modified on Monday, December 3, 2012