Oral Arguments are happening now. View them on the web or via Mobile App on iPhone / iPad or Android (4.0+).

Self-Help Center

You are here


Court of Appeals Courtroom, State Capitol Building, Lincoln, Nebraska

State v. Engstrom

A-15-1180 and A-15-1221, State of Nebraska v. Michael D. Engstrom (Appellant)

Johnson and Pawnee Counties, District Judge Daniel E. Bryan

Attorney for Appellant: Pro se

Attorney for Appellee: Douglas J. Peterson and Austin N. Relph (Attorney General’s Office)

Civil Action:  Postconviction

Boppre v. Frakes

A-15-0832, Jeff Boppre (Appellant) v. Scott Frakes, Director, and Brian Gage, Warden

Johnson County, District Judge Daniel E. Bryan, Jr.

Attorney for Appellant: Pro Se

Attorney for Appellee:  Douglas J. Peterson and Kyle Citta (Attorney General’s Office)

Civil Action:  Temporary Injunction - Prison Conditions

Davis v. State

S-16-0355, Johnnie W. Davis [appellant] v. State of Nebraska, Nebraska Department of Correctional Services, Nebraska Attorney General’s Office, Nebraska Board of Parole, Dave Heineman, Jon Bruning, Michael Kenney, Kyle Poppert, George Green, Sharon Lindgreen, Kathy Blut, Esther Casmer, Rex Richard, Miguel A. Gomez, Rosalyn Cotton, and James Pearson

Lancaster County, Honorable Lori A. Maret

County of Douglas v. Tax Equalization and Review Commission

S-16-0548, County of Douglas (Appellant) v. Tax Equalization and Review Commission

Tax Equalization and Review Commission

Attorneys: Shakil A. Malik (County Attorney’s Office for Appellant) --- L. Jay Bartel (Attorney General’s Office for Appellee TERC) --- Scott P. Moore, Allison D. Balus (Baird Holm LLP) (for Amici Curiae Midwest Housing Equity Group, Inc., and Family Housing Advisory Services, Inc.)

Civil: Equalization and valuation of residential property under Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-5023 et seq.

State v. Buttercase

S-16-0114, State v. Joseph J. Buttercase (Appellant)

Gage County District Court, Hon. Paul Korslund

Attorneys: George R Love (Attorney General’s Office) --- Joseph J. Buttercase (Pro se Appellant)

Civil: Seized property

Proceedings Below: The district court denied Appellant’s motion for return of seized property.

Issues: The district court erred in dismissing the Appellant’s motion for return of seized property.


Zapata v. McHugh

S-16-0511, John Zapata, an Individual and as Assignee (Appellant) v. Donald McHugh, an Individual, Donald McHugh d/b/a/ Lincoln Metal Recycling and McHuge Metal Brokerage LLC, a Limited Liability Company d/b/a Lincoln Metal Recycling, McHugh Metal Brokerage, LLC a Limited Liability Company

Lancaster County District Court, Hon. Steven D. Burns

Attorneys: John Zapata (Pro se Appellant) --- Appellees defaulted

Civil: Lease Agreement; assignment; dismissal

Proceedings Below: The district court dismissed Appellant’s complaint.

Clarke v. First National Bank of Omaha

S-16-0146, Linda Clarke v. First National Bank of Omaha v. Gregg Graham (Appellant)

Douglas County, Hon. Shelly R. Stratman

Attorneys: Norman Denenberg (Appellant Graham) ---Susan J. Spahn (Endacott Peetz & Timmer) (First National Bank of Omaha) --- Edward W. Hasenjager; Howard A. Kaiman (Appellee Clarke)

Civil: breach of contract

Burns v. Burns

A-16-0491, Michael P. Burns v. Kerry E. Burns (Appellant)

Adams County, Hon. James E. Doyle           

Civil: Jurisdiction in Contempt Proceeding

Attorneys: Robert M. Sullivan (Sullivan Shoemaker P.C., L.L.O.) — Matt Catlett (for Appellant)

Proceedings below: The district court overruled Kerry’s motion to vacate an order that held her in contempt of a prior order and sanctioning her therefor.

Issues: The district court erred in denying Kerry’s motion to vacate as the court’s previous orders are void.