(A) A lawyer admitted to the practice of law in another U.S. jurisdiction or the District of Columbia, not admitted in Nebraska, who is in active status in that jurisdiction, who is employed in Nebraska as counsel exclusively for a single corporation, partnership, association, or other legal entity, as well as any affiliate thereof, whose lawful business consists of activities other than the practice of law or provision of legal services, and who has a continuous presence in the State of Nebraska shall register to act as in-house counsel within 90 days of the commencement of employment as a lawyer under this rule or if currently so employed then within 90 days of the effective date of this rule. Initial registration terminates on December 31 of the year of original application and annual renewal pursuant to § 3-1203 is required thereafter.
(B) Registration under Neb. Ct. R. §§ 3-1201 to 3-1204 is not a matter of right. At the discretion of the Nebraska Supreme Court, any applicant for such in-house counsel registration may be required to provide proof of good moral character and fitness to practice law by the jurisdiction in which he or she was admitted to practice law or the Supreme Court may procure the character investigation services of the National Conference of Bar Examiners, at the lawyer’s expense, in any matter in which substantial questions regarding the lawyer’s character or fitness to practice law are implicated.
(C) Any lawyer not licensed in Nebraska who is employed as in-house counsel in Nebraska on the effective date of Neb. Ct. R. §§ 3-1201 to 3-1204 shall not be subject to discipline under the Nebraska Rules of Professional Conduct, Neb. Ct. R. Prof. Cond. §§ 3-501.0 to 3-508.5, if application for registration is made within 90 days of the effective date.
(D) Pro bono practice. A lawyer registered under this section is authorized to provide pro bono legal services through an established not-for-profit association, pro bono program or legal services program or through such organizations specifically authorized in Nebraska
§ 3-1201(A) amended April 10, 2013.
To qualify, the lawyer must file with the Clerk of the Nebraska Supreme Court the following:
(A) A completed application in the form prescribed by the Nebraska Supreme Court found at Appendix 1 herein.
(1) It is not engaged in the practice of law or the rendering of legal services in violation of Neb. Ct. R. §§ 3-1001 to 3-1021, Unauthorized Practice of Law, whether for a fee or otherwise;
(F) The registration fee of $700 payable to the Nebraska Supreme Court for credit to the Nebraska Supreme Court’s Counsel for Discipline Cash Fund. If the application for registration as in-house counsel is denied by the Nebraska Supreme Court, the Clerk of the Nebraska Supreme Court shall refund the registration fee.
§ 3-1202(A) amended April 10, 2013.
(A) Termination of employment. When a lawyer ceases to be employed as in-house counsel with the entity submitting the certification under § 3-1202(D), the lawyer’s authorization to perform legal services under this rule terminates. The lawyer and employer shall immediately notify the Clerk of the Nebraska Supreme Court in writing that the employment has ended.
(B) Change of employers. If within 90 days of ceasing to be employed by the employer submitting the certification under § 3-1202(D), the lawyer becomes employed as in-house counsel by another employer who meets the requirements of this rule, the lawyer’s registration shall be reinstated for the remainder of the calendar year after the new employer files the certification required under § 3-1202(D).
(C) Failure to maintain active status. If a lawyer who is registered under this rule fails to maintain active status in at least one jurisdiction, the rights and privileges under this rule automatically terminate.
(D) Any lawyer registered under this rule shall file a completed renewal form found at Appendix 1 herein on or before January 1 setting forth the requirements of § 3-1202(B) through (D) and pay the annual renewal fee of $345 to the Nebraska Supreme Court for credit to the Nebraska Supreme Court’s Counsel for Discipline Cash Fund.
§ 3-1203(D) amended April 10, 2013.
(A) A lawyer registered under Neb. Ct. R. §§ 3-1201 to 3-1204 shall be subject to the disciplinary authority of this state to the same extent as lawyers licensed to practice law in the State of Nebraska.
(B) A lawyer registered under Neb. Ct. R. §§ 3-1201 to 3-1204 shall immediately inform the Counsel for Discipline of the Nebraska Supreme Court in writing of any disciplinary action commenced or any discipline or sanction imposed against the lawyer in any other jurisdiction.
(C) A lawyer who fails to register with the Nebraska Supreme Court within 90 days of beginning employment as in-house counsel with an employer who meets the requirements of Neb. Ct. R. §§ 3-1201 to 3-1204 or file an annual renewal by March 1 shall be:
§ 3-1204(C) amended April 10, 2013.