Article 12: Registration of In-House
Counsel.

(Chapter 3, Article 12 adopted October 26, 2011, effective January 1, 2012.)

§ 3-1201. General provisions.

(A) All lawyers admitted to the practice of law in another U.S. jurisdiction or the District of
Columbia, not admitted in Nebraska, who are in active status in that jurisdiction, who are
employed in Nebraska as counsel in any capacity exclusively for a single corporation,
partnership, association, or other legal entity, as well as any affiliate thereof, whose lawful
business consists of activities other than the practice of law or provision of legal services, and
who have a continuous presence in the State of Nebraska shall register as in-house counsel,
or seek admission to the active practice of law in Nebraska, within 90 days of the
commencement of employment as a lawyer under this rule or if currently so employed then
within 90 days of the effective date of this rule as amended effective January 1, 2020. Initial
registration terminates on December 31 of the year of original application and annual renewal
pursuant to 8 3-1203 is required thereafter. There are no exceptions to the requirement of
registration as in-house counsel, except admission to the active practice of law in Nebraska,
which admission includes payment of mandatory assessments pursurant to Neb. Ct. R. § 3-
803(D).

(B) Registration under Neb. Ct. R. 88 3-1201 to 3-1204 is not a matter of right. In-house
counsel registration is required of all lawyers working exclusively for a single corporation,
partnership, association, or other legal entity, as well as any affiliate thereof, regardless of the
job title assigned to the attorney. At the discretion of the Nebraska Supreme Court, any
applicant for such in-house counsel registration may be required to provide proof of good
moral character and fitness to practice law by the jurisdiction in which he or she was admitted
to practice law or the Supreme Court may procure the character investigation services of the
National Conference of Bar Examiners, at the lawyer's expense, in any matter in which
substantial questions regarding the lawyer's character or fitness to practice law are implicated.

(C) Any lawyer not licensed in Nebraska who is employed in any capacity exclusively for a
single corporation, partnership, association, or ther legal entity, as well as any affiliate thereof
in Nebraska on January 1, 2020, shall not be subject to discipline for the failure to register
under the Nebraska Rules of Professional Conduct, Neb. Ct. R. Prof. Cond. 88 3-501.0 to 3-
508.5, if application for registration is made within 90 days of January 1, 2020, or the lawyer
has submitted an application for admission to the active practice of law in Nebraska pursuant
to Neb. Ct. R. 8§ 3-100 et seq. within 90 days of January 1, 2020.

(D) Pro bono practice. A lawyer registered under this section is authorized to provide pro
bono legal services through an established not-for-profit association, pro bono program or
legal services program or through such organizations specifically authorized in Nebraska.
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§ 3-1004(A)-(C) amended December 18, 2019, effective January 1, 2020.

§ 3-1202. Application requirements.

To qualify, the lawyer must submit to the Attorney Services Division of the Nebraska
Supreme Court the following:

(A) A completed application by responding to the questions posed through the Attorney
Services Division on-line portal.

(B) A certificate of good standing from the highest court of each jurisdiction of admission
which shall be uploaded through the on-line portal account.

(C) A certificate from the disciplinary authority of each jurisdiction of admission which shall
be uploaded through the on-line portal account and:

(1) States that the lawyer has not been suspended, disbarred, or disciplined and that no
charges of professional misconduct are pending; or

(2) Identifies any suspensions, disbarments, or disciplinary sanctions and any pending
charges.

(D) A duly authorized and executed certification from the lawyer's employer utilizing the form
provided by the Attorney Services Division shall be uploaded through the on-line portal
account and provides that:

(1) It is not engaged in the practice of law or the rendering of legal services in violation of
Neb. Ct. R. 88 3-1001 to 3-1021, Unauthorized Practice of Law, whether for a fee or otherwise;

(2) It is duly qualified to do business under the laws of its organization and the laws of the
State of Nebraska;

(3) The lawyer works exclusively as an employee of said employer as of the date of the
application; and

(4) 1t will promptly notify the Attorney Services Division in writing of the termination of the
lawyer's employment.

(E) Such other affidavits, proofs, and documentation as may be required by the Nebraska
Supreme Court.

(F) The registration fee of $700 shall be paid through the on-line portal for credit to the
Nebraska Supreme Court's Counsel for Discipline Cash Fund and the Attorney Services Cash
Fund. If the application for registration as in-house counsel is denied by the Nebraska
Supreme Court, the registration fee shall be refunded.

§ 3-1202(A) amended April 10, 2013; 8§ 3-1202 amended December 18, 2019, effective
January 1, 2020.
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§ 3-1203. Termination or change of
employment and renewal.

(A) Termination of employment. When a lawyer ceases to be employed as in-house counsel
with the entity submitting the certification under 8§ 3-1202(D), the lawyer's authorization to
perform legal services under this rule terminates. The lawyer shall provide notice to the
Attorney Services Division of the termination through the on-line portal account and the
employer shall immediately notify the Supreme Court Attorney Services Division in writing that
the employment has ended.

(B) Change of employers. If within 90 days of ceasing to be employed by the employer
submitting the certification under 8§ 3-1202(D), the lawyer becomes employed as in-house
counsel by another employer who meets the requirements of this rule, the lawyer's registration
shall be reinstated for the remainder of the calendar year after the new employer provides the
certification required under § 3-1202(D).

(C) Failure to maintain active status. If a lawyer who is registered under this rule fails to
maintain active status in at least one jurisdiction, the rights and privileges under this rule
automatically terminate.

(D) Any lawyer registered under this rule shall renew registration through the on-line portal
account on or before January 20 setting forth the requirements of § 3-1202(B) through (D) and
pay the annual renewal fee of $345 to the Nebraska Supreme Court through the on-line portal
for credit to the Nebraska Supreme Court's Counsel for Discipline Cash Fund and the
Attorney Services Cash Fund.

(E) Any lawyer who fails to file the annual renewal on or before January 20 shall pay an
additional late fee of $25.

§ 3-1203(D) amended April 10, 2013; 8§ 3-1203 amended December 18, 2019, effective
January 1, 2020.

§ 3-1204. Discipline and other applicable
requirements.

(A) A lawyer registered under Neb. Ct. R. 88 3-1201 to 3-1204 shall be subject to the
disciplinary authority of this state to the same extent as lawyers licensed to practice law in the
State of Nebraska.

(B) A lawyer registered under Neb. Ct. R. 88 3-1201 to 3-1204 shall immediately inform the
Counsel for Discipline of the Nebraska Supreme Court in writing of any disciplinary action
commenced or any discipline or sanction imposed against the lawyer in any other jurisdiction.
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(C) A lawyer who fails to register with the Nebraska Supreme Court as in-house counsel or
fails to seek admission to the Nebraska State Bar Association within 90 days of beginning
employment with an employer who meets the requirements of Neb. Ct. R. 88 3-1201 to 3-
1204 or within 90 days of January 1, 2020, or a lawyer who fail to renew current in-house
counsel registration by March 1 shall be:

(1) Subject to professional discipline in this jurisdiction, including referral to Counsel on the
Unauthorized Practice of Law pursuant to Neb. Ct. R. § 3-1012;

(2) Referred by the Counsel for Discipline of the Nebraska Supreme Court to the disciplinary
authority of the jurisdictions of licensure; and

(3) Ineligible for admission on motion in the State of Nebraska.

§ 3-1204(C) amended April 10, 2013; § 3-1204(C) and (C)(1) amended December 18, 2019,
effective January 1, 2020.
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