Guardian and Conservator Education

Guardian and Conservator Education

The Office of Public Guardian provides education and support to individuals serving as guardians and/or conservators as required by the Nebraska Probate Code. This course is required for all newly appointed guardians and conservators, unless specifically waived by the Court. The course content, approved by the Nebraska Supreme Court, provides detailed information for those serving as guardian or conservator.

Course Costs and Formats

The online class ($20) provides a flexible, self-paced option, and is offered in both English and Spanish. Additional interpretation is not available at this time, but guardians and/or conservators may provide their own interpreter to complete the online class.

The phone class ($35) is taught by a live instructor. Interpretation is not available for phone class at this time, but guardians and/or conservators may provide their own interpreter.


Online Class

The online course is highly recommended, as it provides you with the greatest flexibility and access to the course information, while also being the least expensive option. The online course is provided in both English and Spanish. The online course is designed for access with a laptop or desktop computer using the Mozilla Firefox browser. We cannot guarantee that the course will work on tablets, smartphones, or other internet browsers.  Full instructions are also sent with the login credentials. A certificate of completion will generate after finishing the course. It is the guardian and/or conservator’s responsibility to file this certificate with the Court.

Co-guardians and/or co-conservators must register and pay separately. Each registrant must have their own, unique email address. Login credentials will be sent by email within seven (7) business days of payment. In the case of a public health emergency, there may be additional delays. Please DO NOT register for the class more than once.

Register for the online class in English HERE.

The troubleshooting guide provides step-by-step instructions to complete the course and can be found in English HERE.

 

Register for the online class in Spanish HERE.

The troubleshooting guide provides step-by-step instructions to complete the course and can be found in Spanish HERE.


Phone Class

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, in-person classes are currently suspended. Phone classes led by an instructor are offered as an alternative until further notice. All classes are taught on their scheduled days from 1:00 – 4:00PM Central Standard Time (CST) / 12:00PM – 3:00PM Mountain Time (MT).

Interpretation is not available for phone class at this time, but guardians and/or conservators may provide their own interpreter.

After registration, you will receive payment confirmation via email as well as a second email with the course materials. Course materials will be sent by email 5-7 days prior to the scheduled class date. You will need to be able to view the materials during the phone course’s scheduled time and remain on the phone conference for the duration of the class.

Date Time Registration
March 23, 2021 1:00-4:00PM CST / 12:00-3:00 MT Register
April 12, 2021 1:00-4:00PM CST / 12:00-3:00 MT Register
May 19, 2021 1:00-4:00PM CST / 12:00-3:00 MT Register
June 17, 2021 1:00-4:00PM CST / 12:00-3:00 MT Register