Over the Phone Guardian and Conservator Education

Over the Phone Guardian and Conservator Education


Since January 1, 2016, the Office of Public Guardian has provided Guardian/Conservator education required by Nebraska Probate Code. The course content, approved by the Nebraska Supreme Court, provides detailed information for those serving as guardian or conservator. Over the phone classes are led by an Associate Public Guardian (APG) from the Office of Public Guardian. A certificate of completion will be emailed to participants after they complete the course. This certificate will need to be filed with the county court where the guardianship or conservatorship exists.

Registration

Registration can be completed online by clicking the "Register" button next to the appropriate training. The fee for the training is $35 and will need to be collected one week prior to the class. Class materials will be emailed at the time of registration. If you wish to take this training for $20 online instead please click here. 

Attendance

Attendance will be taken an unspecified number of times throughout the call. Attendees must be on time and present at all times when attendance is taken in order to receive a Certificate of Completion for class.

Co-Guardians

ALL persons who requre certification for a Guardian/Conservator Education class MUST register and pay for the class. Co-guardians must BOTH register and pay for class. Both co-guardians must be counted as present at all times during class when attendance is take in order for each to recieve a certificate of completion. 

Interpreters

Each over the phone class listed below will be conducted in the language indicated. 

*** At this time classes will be offered in English only. Participants who require an interpreter may provide their own interpreter. This does not have to be a certified interpreter, a friend or family member is perfectly appropriate. Otherwise, our office is working on options for non-English speakers that we aim to have available around late May or early June of 2020. 

Date Language Time Register

Apr 3, 2020

English  1:00p - 4:00p Register
Apr 7, 2020 English  1:00p - 4:00p Register

Apr 8, 2020

English  1:00p - 4:00p Register
Apr 10, 2020

English 

1:00p - 4:00p

Register
Apr 15, 2020 English  4:00p - 7:00p Register

Apr 16, 2020

English  1:00p - 4:00p Register
Apr 29, 2020 English  1:00p - 4:00p Register
May 19, 2020 English  1:00p - 4:00p Register
June 18, 2020 English 11:00a - 2:00p Register
July 16, 2020 English 1:30p - 4:30p Register
August 18, 2020 English 1:00p - 4:00p Register
September 15, 2020 English 1:00p - 4:00p Register
October 15, 2020 English 1:00p - 4:00p Central Standard Time Register
November 4, 2020 English 1:00p - 4:00p Central Standard Time Register
December 9, 2020 English 1:00p - 4:00p Central Standard Time Register