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[bookmark: _Toc525567675]Data Sources
Home: JUSTICE
Administrative Office of the Courts (2018, August). [JUSTICE: Child Welfare 3(a)] Cognos: Raw Data all existing data.

Administrative Office of the Courts (2017, February). [JUSTICE: Juvenile Justice Data] Cognos: Raw Data all existing data.
Demographics: CENSUS 2017 

United States Census Bureau. (2017, December). [Poverty status in the past 12 months by sex by age]. Raw Data Table B1700, 2012-2016 American Community Survey 5-Year Estimates.

United States Census Bureau. (2017, December). [Under 19 Total Population and non-Hispanic White and Minority Populations: Nebraska and Its Counties 2012-2016 timeframe]. Raw Data tables B01001 and B01001H, 2012-2016 American Community Survey. Data pulled by: David Drozd, UNO Center for Public Affairs Research on December 7, 2017.

Case Progression: AOC JUSTICE 
Administrative Office of the Courts (2018, August). [JUSTICE: Child Welfare 3(a)] Cognos: Raw Data greater than fiscal year 2012.

Administrative Office of the Courts (2017, February). [JUSTICE: Juvenile Justice Data] Cognos: Raw Data greater than fiscal year 2012.

Probation: AOP
Administrative Office of the Courts & Probation. (2018, August). [Youth with Intake FY 17-18] Cognos: Raw Data July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2018.


[bookmark: _Toc525567676]Definitions and Operationalization

[bookmark: _Toc525567677]Case Progression Standards: These provide criteria for best practice time goals between hearings in an effort to improve court efficiency, productivity, and access to justice for all youth who are court involved. The following provides the corresponding days to the national best practice, Nebraska rule § 6-104, or Nebraska Case law.

[bookmark: _Toc525567678]Nebraska Rule § 6-104. 
Time for disposition of juvenile cases.
    These standards are designed as tools to achieve the overall goals of efficiency, productivity, and access to justice, and are not intended as absolute requirements.
[bookmark: 6104A]   (A) The following case progression standards shall apply to child welfare cases:
[bookmark: 6104A1]   (1) A temporary custody hearing should be held no later than 8 days after the child's removal.
[bookmark: 6104A2]   (2) Adjudication hearings in cases under Neb. Rev. Stat. § 43-247(3)(a) where children have been removed should be held within 60 days of the filing of the petition. Where the children have not been removed, or are returned home shortly after the filing of the petition, the adjudication hearing should occur within 90 days of the date of filing. If the termination of parental rights hearing is happening simultaneously or the case has complex issues or the service of process on a parent or child requires additional time, there can be an exception. In cases where families are participating in voluntary services where a dismissal is anticipated in the future, it would be permitted or allowed to regard the case as on hold, and therefore exempt from the progression standard, until dismissal.
[bookmark: 6104A3]   (3) A disposition hearing should be held within 45 days from the date of the adjudication hearing.
[bookmark: 6104A4]   (4) Review hearings should be held, on the record, every 6 months.
[bookmark: 6104A5]   (5) The time between the filing of a Motion to Terminate Parental Rights and submission for decision should be no more than 90 days. When an initial petition also includes a Motion to Terminate Parental Rights, it should be submitted to the court for decision within 180 days. If service on the parent is delayed, the 90-day or 180-day period may start once service is effected.
[bookmark: 6104B]   (B) The following case progression standards shall apply to juvenile justice cases:
[bookmark: 6104B1]   (1)  Notwithstanding any federal or state law providing for a longer period, the juvenile shall not be held in detention for more than 48 hours without a probable cause finding being made by the appropriate judicial authority.
   Nothing contained in this rule shall prevent the judges of a separate juvenile court of any county in this state or the county judges having juvenile jurisdiction in any judicial district of this state from adopting a local rule providing for a probable cause finding to be made by the appropriate judicial authority in a timeframe of less than 48 hours nor shall this rule prevent such local rule from requiring the appropriate judicial authority to make a finding whether continued detention is a matter of immediate and urgent necessity because the juvenile is a danger to self or others or to property of others or is at risk for flight.
[bookmark: 6104B2]   (2) An adjudication hearing shall be held within 30 days from the initial date of detention if the juvenile remains detained after the filing of a delinquency petition or 14 days if the juvenile remains detained on a Motion to Revoke Probation.
[bookmark: 6104B3]   (3) The time between the filing of the petition and the adjudication for nondetained juveniles should be no more than 90 days for delinquency or status offenses and no more than 30 days for resolutions of Motions to Revoke Probation for nondetained juveniles.
[bookmark: 6104B4]   (4) A disposition hearing should be held within 45 days from the date of the adjudication hearing.
Rule 3(A) - (D) adopted March 19, 1997. Renumbered and codified as § 6-103, effective July 18, 2008; § 6-103 renumbered to § 6-104 November 27, 2013; § 6-104(A) amended December 18, 2013; § 6-104 amended September 20, 2017.
‹ § 6-103. Implementation assistance. up Article 2: Closing Hearings to the Public. › 



[bookmark: _Toc525567679]2018 3A Case Progression Measurement

1. Removal to Protective Custody Hearing
Formula = (Protective custody hearing – Removal date) = days
· Report Categories:
i. 0-3 days - Best practice
ii. 4-8 days – Nebraska Rule § 6-104
iii. 9-14 days - Nebraska Case law
iv. 15-21 days - within 3 weeks
v. 22-30 days - up to one month after removal
vi. Error <  0
vii. Outlier >30

2. Petition to First Appearance Hearing
Formula = (First Appearance Date – File Date) = days
· Report Categories:
i. 0-7 days - within 1 week
ii. 8-14 days - within 2 weeks
iii. 15-30 days - within 1 month
iv. 30-60 days - within 2 months
v. Error <  0
vi. Outlier >60

Nebraska Court Improvement Project Data Dashboard Informational Guide

CIP Data Dashboard Guide
3. 
1

4. REMOVED child: Petition to Adjudication Hearing 
Filter: only measure child removed 
Formula = (Adjudication – File Date) = days
· Report Categories:
i. 0-30 days - within 1 month
ii. 30-60 days - Nebraska Rule § 6-104
iii. 61-90 days – within 3 months
iv. 81-120 days
v. 121-150 days
vi. Error< 0
vii. Outlier >150

3a. Not REMOVED: Petition to Adjudication Hearing Filter missing Removal date 
Formula = (Adjudication – File Date) = days
· Report Categories:
i. 0-30 days - within 1 month
ii. 30-60 days - Best practice
iii. 61-90 days - Nebraska Rule § 6-104
iv. 81-120 days
v. 121-150 days
vi. Error < 0
vii. Outlier > 150

5. Adjudication to Disposition Hearing 
Formula = (Disposition Date – Adjudication date) = days
· Report Categories:
i. same day
ii. 1-14 days - within 2 weeks
iii. 15-30 days - within 1 month - Best Practice
iv. 31-45 days – Nebraska Rule § 6-104
v. 46-60 days - within 2 months 
vi. 61-120 days
vii. Error < 0 
viii. Outlier > 120 

6. Disposition to Review Hearing  
Formula = (1st Review after 1st disposition – 1st disposition) = days
· Report Categories:
i. 0-90 days - within 3 months
ii. 91-180 days - within 6 months - Nebraska Rule § 6-104
iii. 181-270 days - within 9 months
iv. 271-365 days - within 1 year
v. Error < 0 
vi. Outlier >365


7. Removal to Permanency Hearing
Formula = (Permanency Hearing date – Removal date) = days
· Report Categories:
i. 0-180 days - up to 6 months
ii. 181-365 days - up to 1 year
iii. 366-545 days - up to 18 months
iv. 546 thru 730 days - up to 2 years
v. Error < 0 
vi. Outlier >730


8. CIP is currently not tracking this standard due to lack of consistent practice across the state. Efforts are being made to clean this and track in the future.
Motion to Terminate Parental Rights to submission for decision 
Formula = (OTPRTRL – MTRMPRNT) = days
· Report Categories:
i. 0-90 days - Nebraska Rule § 6-104 






7a. CIP is currently not tracking this standard due to lack of consistent practice across the state. Efforts are being made to clean this and track in the future.
Motion to Terminate Parental Rights to submission for decision 
Filter: If FILE DATE (Date petition was filed) = MTRMPRNT (Motion of termination of parental rights) 
Formula = (OTPRTRL – MTRMPRNT) = days
· Report Categories:
i. 0-180 days - Nebraska Rule § 6-104
9. 
10. Petition to Case Termination  
Formula = (TSTATDATE – FILEDATE) = days
· Report Categories:
i. 0-180 days - up to 6 months
ii. 181-365 days - up to 1 year
iii. 366-545 days - up to 18 months
iv. 546 thru 730 days - up to 2 years
v. 731 thru 1095- up to 3 years
vi. 1096 thru highest - over 3 years





[bookmark: _Toc525567680]2018 Juvenile Justice Case Progression Measurement
1. Detention to Detention Hearing
Formula = (Detention hearing – Detention) = days
· Report Categories:
i. 0-1 days 
ii. 2 days - Nebraska Rule § 6-104
iii. 3 days 
iv. 4 days 
v. 5 days
vi. 6 days
vii. 7 thru 14 days
viii. Error < 0
ix. Outliers > 15

2. Petition To First Appearance Hearing 
Formula = (First Appearance/Arraignment – Filed date) = days
· Report Categories:
i. 0-7 days - within 1 week
ii.  8-14 days - within 2 weeks
iii. 15-30 days - within 1 month
iv. 30-60 days - within 2 months
v. Error < 0 
vi. Outliers > 60


3. 
4. Detention Start Date to Adjudication Hearing (Detained) 
Formula = (Adjudication hearing – Detention date) = days
· Report Categories: 
i. same day
ii. 1-14 days - within 2 weeks 
iii. 15-30 days - within 1 month - Nebraska Rule § 6-104
iv. 31-45 days – within 6 weeks
v. 46-60 days - within 2 months
vi. Error < 0 
vii. Outliers > 60 

3a. Detention to Adjudication Hearing (Detained on a Motion to Revoke)
Formula = (Adjudication hearing – Motion to Revoke Probation date) = days
· Report Categories:   
i. same day
ii. 1-14 days - within 2 weeks - Nebraska Rule § 6-104
iii. 15-30 days - within 1 month 
iv. 31-45 days – within 6 weeks
v. 46-60 days - within 2 months
vi. Error < 0
vii. Outliers > 60


5. Petition to Adjudication Hearing (Not Detained)
Formula = (Adjudication hearing - Filed date) = days
· Report Categories:   
i. 0-30 days - within 1 month
ii. 30-60 days - within 2 months
iii. 61-90 days - within 3 months - Nebraska Rule § 6-104
iv. 91-180 days - within 6 months 
v. 181- 270 days - within 9 months 
vi. Error < 0 
vii. Outlier >270

4a. Petition to Adjudication Hearing (Not Detained, Resolution of Motion to Revoke)
Formula = (Adjudication hearing - Filed date) = days
viii. same day
ix. 1-14 days - within 2 weeks 
x. 15-30 days - within 1 month - Nebraska Rule § 6-104
xi. 31-45 days – within 6 weeks
xii. 46-60 days - within 2 months
xiii. Error < 0 
xiv. Outliers > 60 



6. Adjudication Hearing To Disposition Hearing 
Formula = (Disposition Hearing - Adjudication hearing) = days
· Report Categories:
i. same day
ii. 1-14 days - within 2 weeks
iii. 15-30 days - within 1 month - Best Practice
iv. 31-45 days - Nebraska Rule § 6-104 
v. 46-60 days - within 2 months - Supreme Court Rule
vi. 61-120 days
vii. Error < 0 
viii. Outliers >120

7. Petition Date To Jurisdiction Terminated (reported for delinquency and status)
Formula = (Jurisdiction Terminated - Filed date) = days
· Report Categories:
i. 0-180 days - up to 6 months
ii. 181-365 days - up to 1 year
iii. 366-545 days - up to 18 months
iv. 546 thru 730 days - up to 2 years




[bookmark: _Toc525567681]Case Status:  Gives a snapshot of where the case is in progression to termination

	Case Status
	Definition

	Appealed
	A notice of appeal has been filed and case is in the process of being appealed.

	Diversion
	Youth was sent to a program before trial to avoid court involvement. 

	Mandate
	When the Case comes back to the court after the appeal.

	Open
	The case is open and on-going.

	Problem Solving Court (PSC)
	The case referred to problem solving court for substance abuse, mental health, and/or domestic violence issues.

	Reopened
	The case re-opened following closure or transfer and on-going.

	Waiting
	When a case is open or reopened and an appeal is filed the case goes into a waiting status.






[bookmark: _Toc525567682]Sub Type: This is a category system for the type of case that is to be heard in court. The following are the juvenile categories for the child welfare and juvenile justice cases in Nebraska court: 

	Sub Type
	Definition

	1
	Misdemeanor

	2
	Felony

	3B
	Status

	4
	Traffic

	3AABAND
	Abandonment

	3AABUSE
	Abuse

	3AHMLES
	Homelessness

	3ANEGLT
	Neglect







[bookmark: _Toc525558774][bookmark: _Toc525567683]Filters

[bookmark: _Toc525567684]Judicial District: There are 12 judicial districts in the Nebraska county court system, each composed of one to 17 counties, and 58 county court judges. Each county has a county court which has concurrent jurisdiction with district courts in misdemeanor cases arising under state law and domestic relations cases. Separate juvenile courts are courts of record and handle cases involving neglected, dependent, and delinquent children. Juvenile courts can be created with approval of voters in counties with more than 75,000 people. For a list of the Judicial Districts and a map see the State of Nebraska Judicial Branch website: https://supremecourt.nebraska.gov/courts/county-courts/judges 


[bookmark: _Toc525567685]All Teams: This filter is for the Court Improvement Project Through the Eyes of a Child multidisciplinary teams. For a list of the teams and a map see the CIP website: https://supremecourt.nebraska.gov/programs-services/court-improvement-project/through-eyes-child-initiative/teams 


[bookmark: _Toc525567686]Race: Although race is a form or social grouping often defined as the physical characteristics that are observable (e.g. Black, White, Asian; Jones, Dovidio, & Vietze, 2014) and ethnicity refers to social groups on the basis of cultural criteria (e.g. Hispanic, Pacific Islander, Puerto Rican; Jones, Dovidio, & Vietze, 2014), the Nebraska court system does not currently have proper methodology to distinguish between the two. This variable combines race and ethnicity for youth in the system into the following categories: 

	Race Code
	Race

	A
	Asian

	B
	Black

	H
	Hispanic

	I
	Indian

	O
	Other

	P
	Pacific Islander

	U
	Unknown

	W
	White





[bookmark: _Toc525567687]Gender:  A social construct and a result of sociocultural influences throughout an individual's development (Schneider, Gruman & Coutts, 2005). Nebraska court data captures Male, Female, and Invalid (was not entered). 

[bookmark: _Toc525567688]Age: Court data captures the youth’s date of birth. Age is calculated by the number of years between the date the petition was filed and the youth’s date of birth. 

Note: The age group categories are the same categories used in DHHS reporting.  

[bookmark: _Toc525567689]Crossover: We are currently identifying consistent youth records via the Name, SSN and Birth Date fields entered into JUSTICE.  We then identify all cases associated with these consistent youths and determine if there is a Juvenile Justice and Child Welfare case currently open for an individual.  If so, this youth is considered a ‘crossover youth’ and all cases associated with this youth are flagged as ‘crossover.’ As soon as this person is no longer crossover due to a case closing then the flag is removed from all associated cases. ‘Case closing’ refers to a case receiving a Case Status of ‘Closed.’ If an individual youth has a Juvenile Justice cases with a Case Status of ‘O’ and another Child Welfare case with a Case Status of ‘O,’ that youth is crossover.  As soon as one of those Case Statuses switches to ‘C’ that youth will no longer be considered a crossover.
 
Note: The crossover logic was developed in collaboration between CIP (Hazel Delgado and Deb Van-Dyke Ries) and Crossover Model Specialists (Amy Latshaw and Monica DeMent) with the EKS&H contractors (Dave Lee and Chris Framel). The process of identifying a consistent person is not perfect as the data isn’t quite as reliable as we would like, but hopefully we are capturing enough of the crossover cases to give an accurate view of the case progression. This is the first attempt to identify crossover youth statewide and there may be some tweaks that need to be made to this logic as stakeholders become more familiar with the data. Please contact Hazel Delgado via email at hazel.delgado@nebraska.gov if you have any questions or suggestions.  



[bookmark: _Toc525567690]Probation data

[bookmark: _Toc525567691]% Ended:
1. Calculating total of placements that had a release date (e.g. 23)
1. Calculate the total of placements (total placements = 30, meaning 7 of the records have no release date)
1. Divide 1 into 2.  (e.g. 23/30 In this example % ended is 76.6%)

[bookmark: _Toc525567692]Placement Status Groups: These groups are created using their placement in a variety of out-of-home settings for care and treatment as an option for youth involved in the juvenile justice system. These temporary placement options range from detention facilities, state-licensed group or foster homes, residential treatment centers, youth rehabilitation and treatment centers, shelters, etc. For more details see the following website:
https://supremecourt.nebraska.gov/probation/juvenile-services-division/placement 

For definitions of each of these types of placements please visit: https://supremecourt.nebraska.gov/probation/juvenile/service-def 

For the CIP data dashboard, we are grouping youth into the same categories used by probation, they are the following:

Congregate non-treatment:
Group Home A, Group Home B, Independent Living, Therapeutic Group Home

Congregate treatment:
Psychiatric Residential Treatment, Crisis stabilization or shelter, Crisis Stabilization, Enhanced Shelter Care, Shelter Care

Detention:
Detention Secure, Detention Staff-Secure

Foster care/specialized homes:
Developmental Disability Group Home, Foster Care, Relative/Kinship, Respite Care,
Developmental Disability Extended Family Home, Emergency Foster Care 


Acute inpatient hospitalization and short-term residential:   
Short-Term Residential, Acute Inpatient Hospitalization

Jail:
Jail
[bookmark: _GoBack]
Missing from care:
Run away from Home, Runaway from Placement 


[bookmark: _Toc525567693]Census Data

[bookmark: _Toc525567694]Poverty Population < 18: Children in poverty shows how many kids were in a situation where income fell below the poverty line (being in poverty). Not all persons have a poverty calculation – for example, a child in prison or a detention center would not be working or with a working family and therefore they are removed from the poverty calculation. 

[bookmark: _Toc525567695]Base population: refers to as “those for whom poverty is determined” or any child at or above poverty level 

[bookmark: _Toc525567696]Poverty rate: takes those who were in poverty and divides it by the base population (those for whom poverty is determined) – multiplying by 100 shows the values as percentages. 

[bookmark: _Toc525567697]Poverty ranking: takes the poverty rates and ranks them in order with the highest poverty rates shown as #1, and lowest as #93 for Nebraska counties. 



[bookmark: _Toc525567698]Case Progression Calculation 

[bookmark: _Toc525567699]Data Items from JUSTICE for Child Welfare Calculations
	Case Progression Step
	Variable Name
	Description/Calculation

	1. Removal to Protective Custody Hearing

	
	

	
	REMOVAL Date

	This is the actual date the child was removed from the home

	
	PROCSTH Date
	Protective Custody Hearing Order – Date – if removal date, this should be there

	
	PROCSTFO DATE
	When the judge has entered the order from the protective custody hearing

	
	Protective Custody Hearing Date C
	This is a combination of the protective custody hearing and the order of protective custody hearing

	
	Removal to Protective Custody Hearing Days
	Formula = (protective custody hearing – Removal date) = total days between dates

	2. Juvenile Petition to Adjudication Hearing (child removed from home)

	Variable Name
	Description/Calculation

	
	Filed Date
	Date the petition is filed

	
	JVPET Date
	Date the petition is filed

	
	File Date/JVPET
	This is a combination of the file date and the petition

	
	ADJUD Date
	This is the hearing where the court determines whether the juvenile comes within the meaning of 43-247. This may be a formal trial or the parents may admit to part or all of the allegations.

	
	OADJUD Date
	Order from the judge following adjudication hearing

	
	Adjudication Date C
	This is a combination of the adjudication hearing and the order of adjudication hearing

	
	Petition to Adjudication Hearing Days
	Formula = (Adjudication – File/JVPet Date) = days

	
	REMOVAL Date
	Filter = only show cases when youth have removal date

	3. Juvenile Petition to Adjudication Hearing (Not Removed)

	Variable Name
	Description/Calculation

	
	Filed Date
	Date the petition is filed

	
	JVPET Date
	Date the petition is filed

	
	File Date/JVPET
	This is a combination of the file date and the petition

	
	ADJUD Date
	This is the hearing where the court determines whether the juvenile comes within the meaning of 43-247. This may be a formal trial or the juvenile may admit to part or all of the allegations.

	
	OADJUD Date
	Order from the judge following adjudication hearing

	
	Adjudication Date C
	This is a combination of the adjudication hearing and the order of adjudication hearing

	
	Petition to Adjudication Hearing Days
	Formula = (Adjudication – File/JVPet Date) = days

	4. Adjudication to Disposition Hearing
	Variable Name
	Description/Calculation

	
	ADJUD Date
	This is the hearing where the court determines whether the juvenile comes within the meaning of 43-247. This may be a formal trial or the juvenile may admit to part or all of the allegations.

	
	OADJUD Date
	Order from the judge following adjudication hearing

	
	Adjudication Date C
	This is a combination of the adjudication hearing and the order of adjudication hearing

	
	DISP Date
	Disposition Date- always after adjudication hearing, sets probation

	
	Disp First Date
	First Disposition Date

	
	Disp Last Date
	Last Disposition Date

	
	ODISP Date
	Order from disposition is filed

	
	Disposition C
	This is a combination of the disposition hearing and the order of disposition hearing

	
	Adjudication C to Disposition C Days
	Formula= (Disposition – Adjudication) = total days

	5. Disposition to First Review Hearing
	Variable Name
	Description/Calculation

	
	DISP Date
	Disposition Date- always after adjudication hearing, sets probation

	
	Disp First Date
	First Disposition Date

	
	Disp Last Date
	Last Disposition Date

	
	ODISP Date
	Order from disposition is filed

	
	Disposition C
	This is a combination of the disposition hearing and the order of disposition hearing

	
	JVREVIEW Date (FIRST)
	This hearing must be held every 6 months but is often held every 90 days or sooner. It occurs after adjudication and disposition.

	
	OJVREV Date (FIRST)
	Order from first review hearing

	
	JVREVIEW C
	This is a combination of the first review hearing and the order of first review hearing

	
	Disposition C to Review Hearing Days
	Formula= (First review – disposition) = total days

	

6. First Removal to First Permanency Hearing
	Variable Name
	Description/Calculation

	
	REMOVAL Date

	This is the actual date the child was removed from the home

	
	
PERMHRG
	Permanency hearing Date. This is the date of the first one.

	
	OPERMHRG
	This is the order from the judge following permanency hearing often 

	
	Removal to Permhrg days
	Formula = (permanency hearing – first removal)= total days

	
	
	

	7. Time to Case Termination
	Variable Name
	Description/Calculation

	
	Filed Date
	Date the petition is filed

	
	JVPET Date
	Date the petition is filed

	
	File Date/JVPET
	This is a combination of the file date and the petition

	
	Filed Date
	Date the petition is filed

	
	JURSTRM Date
	When court jurisdiction closes on the case. This code changes the case status from closed to terminated. 

	
	TSTATDATE Date
	TERMINATION OF THE CASE - maybe comes from the case status data if terminated

	
	Filed date to TSTAT date
	Formula = (case termination- petition) = total days

	
	
	





[bookmark: _Toc525567700]Data Items from JUSTICE for Juvenile Justice Calculations

	Case Progression Step
	Variable Name
	Case Progression Step

	1. Detention to Detention Hearing Date
	
	

	
	DETHRG Date
	Detention hearing

	
	ODETHRG Date
	Order of detention hearing

	
	Detention hearing C
	This is a combination of the detention hearing and the detention hearing order

	
	Detention Start to Detention hearing
	Formula= (detention hearing – detention start date)= total days

	2. Juvenile Petition/File Date to First Appearance/Arraignment Date
	Variable Name
	Case Progression Step

	
	Filed Date
	Date the petition is filed

	
	JVPET Date
	Date the petition is filed

	
	File Date/JVPET
	This is a combination of the file date and the petition

	
	FIRSTAPP Date
	First appearance when their rights are read to them

	
	OFIRSTAP Date
	OFIRSTAP – Order for first appearance – when the order that results from the first appearance is filed

	
	ARRAIGN Date
	This is the hearing where the juvenile is advised of the allegations contained within the petition and his/her due process rights

	
	OARRAIGN Date
	Judge has entered the order from the arraignment

	
	FIRSTAPP/ARRAGN C
	This is a combination of the first appearance/arraignment hearing and the first appearance/arraignment order

	
	File Date/JVPet to FIRSTAPP/ARRAGN
	Formula= (first appearance/arraignment-petition/filed date)= total days

	3. Detention to Adjudication Hearing (if detained)

	Variable Name
	Case Progression Step

	
	DETHRG Date
	Detention hearing

	
	ODETHRG Date
	Order of detention hearing

	
	Detention hearing C
	This is a combination of the detention hearing and the detention hearing order

	
	ADJUD Date
	This is the hearing where the court determines whether the juvenile comes within the meaning of 43-247. This may be a formal trial or the juvenile may admit to part or all of the allegations.

	
	
	

	

	OADJUD Date
	Order from the judge following adjudication hearing

	
	Adjudication Date C
	This is a combination of adjudication hearing and adjudication order

	
	Detention start date to ADJUD date
	Formula= (adjudication date—detention start date) = total days

	3a. Detention to Adjudication Hearing (detained with a motion to revoke probation)
	Variable Name
	Case Progression Step

	
	DETHRG Date
	Detention hearing

	
	ODETHRG Date
	Order of detention hearing

	
	Detention hearing C
	This is a combination of the detention hearing and the detention hearing order

	
	MREVPROB Date
	Motion to revoke probation

	
	OREVPROB Date
	Order of motion to revoke probation

	
	ADJUD Date
	This is the hearing where the court determines whether the juvenile comes within the meaning of 43-247. This may be a formal trial or the juvenile may admit to part or all of the allegations.

	
	OADJUD Date
	Order from the judge following adjudication hearing

	
	Adjudication Date C
	This is a combination of adjudication hearing and adjudication order

	
	Detention Start Date to ADJUD Date with MTR
	Formula= (adjudication date—detention start date) =total days

	4. Petition to Adjudication Hearing (not detained)

	Variable Name
	Case Progression Step

	
	Filed Date
	Date the petition is filed

	
	JVPET Date
	Date the petition is filed

	
	File Date/JVPET
	This is a combination of the file date and the petition

	
	ADJUD Date
	This is the hearing where the court determines whether the juvenile comes within the meaning of 43-247. This may be a formal trial or the juvenile may admit to part or all of the allegations.

	
	OADJUD Date
	Order from the judge following adjudication hearing

	
	Adjudication Date C
	This is a combination of adjudication hearing and adjudication order

	
	File/JVPET date to ADJUD date
	Formula= (adjudication date—file/petition date) =total days

	
	
	

	4a. Petition to Adjudication Hearing (with a resolution of motion to revoke for NON-DETAINED youth)
	Variable Name
	Case Progression Step

	
	Filed Date
	Date the petition is filed

	
	JVPET Date
	Date the petition is filed

	
	File Date/JVPET
	This is a combination of the file date and the petition

	
	ADJUD Date
	This is the hearing where the court determines whether the juvenile comes within the meaning of 43-247. This may be a formal trial or the juvenile may admit to part or all of the allegations.

	
	OADJUD Date
	Order from the judge following adjudication hearing

	
	Adjudication Date C
	This is a combination of adjudication hearing and adjudication order

	
	RESMREVPROB Date

	Resolution of motion to revoke

	
	File/JVPET date to ADJUD date (non-detained, RESMREVPROB)
	Formula= (adjudication date—file/petition date) =total days

	5. Adjudication Hearing to Disposition Hearing


	Variable Name
	Case Progression Step

	
	ADJUD Date
	This is the hearing where the court determines whether the juvenile comes within the meaning of 43-247. This may be a formal trial or the juvenile may admit to part or all of the allegations.

	
	OADJUD Date
	Order from the judge following adjudication hearing

	
	Adjudication Date C
	This is a combination of adjudication hearing and adjudication order

	
	DISP Date
	Disposition Date- always after adjudication hearing, sets probation

	
	Disp First Date
	First Disposition Date

	
	ODISP Date
	Order from disposition is filed

	
	ADJUD Date to DISPO Date
	Formula= (disposition date—adjudication date) = total days

	6. Petition to termination

	Variable Name
	Case Progression Step

	
	Filed Date

	Date the petition is filed

	
	JVPET Date

	Date the petition is filed

	
	File Date/JVPET
	This is a combination of the file date and the petition

	
	JURSTRM Date




	When court jurisdiction closes on the juvenile. This code changes the case status from closed to terminated.

	
	OJURSTRM
	Order from the judge after termination hearing

	
	File/JVPET Date to JURSTRM Date
	Formula= (termination date to filed/petition date) = total days



