
ODR-PA-F-017 

 
Waiver of 7.5 Hours of Nebraska Mediation Association’s 

Family Mediation Training 

 
Per N. R. S. § 43-2938 (2): To qualify for inclusion in the roster of mediators maintained by the Office of Dispute 
Resolution as an approved Parenting Act mediator, a person shall have basic mediation training and family 
mediation training, approved by the Office of Dispute Resolution, and shall have served as an apprentice to a 
mediator as defined in section 25-2903. The family mediation training shall include, but not be limited to: 

(a) Knowledge of the court system and procedures used in contested family matters; 

(b) General knowledge of family law, especially regarding custody, parenting time, visitation, and other access, 
and support, including calculation of child support using the child support guidelines pursuant to section 42-
364.16; 

(c) Knowledge of other resources in the state to which parties and children can be referred for assistance; 

(d) General knowledge of child development, the potential effects of dissolution or parental separation upon 
children, parents, and extended families, and the psychology of families; 

(e) Knowledge of child abuse or neglect and domestic intimate partner abuse and their potential impact upon 
the safety of family members, including knowledge of provisions for safety, transition plans, domestic intimate 
partner abuse screening protocols, and mediation safety measures; and 

(f) Knowledge in regard to the potential effects of domestic violence on a child; the nature and extent of 
domestic intimate partner abuse; the social and family dynamics of domestic intimate partner abuse; techniques 
for identifying and assisting families affected by domestic intimate partner abuse; interviewing, documentation 
of, and appropriate recommendations for families affected by domestic intimate partner abuse; and availability 
of community and legal domestic violence resources. 

 
 
I, ________________________________________________, attest that I am licensed to practice law in 
Nebraska. Based on my legal education and licensure, the Nebraska Office of Dispute Resolution (ODR) 
recognizes that I have received the required training per N. R. S. § 43-2938 (2) (a) and (b) that allows me to 
waive one day (7.5 hours) of the Nebraska Mediation Association’s (NMA) Family Mediation training that  
applies to these sections.  

By completing the remaining 22.5 hours of Nebraska Mediation Association’s Family Mediation Training, the 
remaining training requirements (N. R. S. § 43-2938 (2) (c) (d) (e) and (f)) will be completed. The review the 
criteria for initial approval as a Parenting Act mediator, visit https://supremecourt.nebraska.gov/programs-
services/mediation-restorative-justice/parenting-act-family/parenting-act-mediator-information.  

 
Submit this waiver to the Nebraska Office of Dispute Resolution when applying for approval as a Parenting 
Act Mediator.  

 

_______________________________________________________ _____________________________ 
Signature / Nebraska Bar #       Date 

 

_________________________________ 
Date of NMA Family Mediation Training 
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