MINUTES OF THE PUBLIC HEARING OF THE NEBRASKA JUDICIAL RESOURCES COMMISSION June 7, 2024

Pursuant to the press release issued May 29, 2024, a public hearing of the Nebraska Judicial Resources Commission was held on the 7th day of June, 2024, in Room 1510, State Capitol Building, in Lincoln, Nebraska.

AGENDA ITEM I: The Chair called the proceedings to order at approximately 10 a.m. The proceedings included a Zoom videoconferencing option for Commission members and for members of the public. Roll Call by Kara Nielsen.

PRESENT (* denotes Zoom attendance)
Justice Jonathan Papik
Judge Matthew Kahler*
Taylor Gage
Cyd Hall
Kenneth Hartman
Roxanne Kracl*
Nancy McCabe*
Robert Parker
Darlene Starman*
Jacqueline Tessendorf*
Maria Whitmore*

4 . 1 f

EXCUSED Judge Travis O'Gorman Timothy Engler Judge Anne Paine Meagan Spomer Ron Temple Brian Phares

AGENDA ITEM II: The Chair confirmed that all Commission members had received and reviewed the minutes from the February 16, 2024, hearing. On a voice vote the commissioners accepted the minutes of February 16, 2024.

AGENDA ITEM III: The following exhibits were received and considered by the Commission, and are attached to these minutes:

Exhibit 1: Meeting Agenda Exhibit 2: Minutes of the February 16, 2024, hearing. Exhibit 3: Letter of retirement - District Court Judge Terri S. Harder Exhibit 4: Letter from the NSBA Exhibit 5: 2023 District Court Weighted Caseload Report

AGENDA ITEM V: The public hearing was conducted and the Commission received and considered public testimony from: Corey Steel, State Court Administrator, and Judge Tim Hoeft.

AGENDA ITEM IV(a): It was moved by Robert Parker and seconded by Jacqueline Tessendorf to declare a judicial vacancy in the District Court in the 10th Judicial District due to the retirement of Judge Terri S. Harder. On a roll call vote the motion passed unanimously. There was discussion

on the topic of primary office location of the vacancy. No motion was made as to a recommendation of primary office location.

4 x 25 g

AGENDA ITEM V: There being no other matters brought before the Commission, on a voice vote the commission voted to adjourn the meeting.

Respectfully submitted:

Justice Jonathan J. Papik

Chair