NOTICE OF COMMENT PERIOD

Proposed amendments to Neb. Ct. R. § 3-701 et seq. were submitted to the Nebraska Supreme Court by the Nebraska State Bar Association. Before consideration, the Nebraska Supreme Court directed that the proposed amendments be published for a public comment period.

The Nebraska Supreme Court invites interested persons to comment on the proposed amendments. Anyone desiring to comment on the proposed amendments should do so in writing to the office of the Clerk of the Supreme Court and Court of Appeals, P.O. Box 98910, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-8910, or via email to wendy.wussow@nebraska.gov, with the rule number listed in the subject line, no later than May 2, 2022.

The full text of the proposed amendments are available below, or a paper copy may be obtained by telephoning the office of the Clerk of the Supreme Court and Court of Appeals at (402) 471-3731.

CHAPTER 3: ATTORNEYS AND THE PRACTICE OF LAW

. . . .

Article 7: Senior Law Students; Limited Practice of Law.

§ 3-701. Purpose.

The purpose of this rule is to provide senior law students with supervised practical training in the practice of law during the period of their formal legal education <u>and the period immediately following graduation prior to being admitted to full practice before this court</u>.

. . . .

§ 3-703. Requirements and limitations.

To become eligible to participate in legal activities pursuant to this rule, a law student must:

(A) Be duly enrolled in a law school approved by the American Bar Association <u>or</u> <u>have graduated from such a law school within the past 18 months</u>. A law student will be considered duly enrolled during the period of his law school's next summer vacation period following completion of the requirements of § 3-703(B).

. . . .

§ 3-705. Certification.

The certification of a student by the law school dean:

(A) Shall be filed with the Clerk of this Court and, unless it is sooner withdrawn, shall terminate if the student does not pass the bar examination within 18 months of take the first bar examination following his or her graduation, or if the student takes such bar examination and fails it, or if he or she is admitted to full practice before this court.

(B) May be withdrawn by the dean at any time by mailing a notice thereof to the Clerk of this Court. It is not necessary that the notice state the cause for withdrawal.

(C) May be terminated by this Court at any time without prior notice and without any showing of cause.

. . . .