The Courts of Nebraska 2010



Supreme Court and Court of Appeals Annual Caseload Report

Prepared by The Nebraska Supreme Court Administrative Office of Courts/Probation

Nebraska Supreme Court

Nebraska Supreme Court Justices

Chief Justice Michael G. Heavican

Honorable John F. Wright Honorable William Connolly Honorable John Gerrard Honorable Kenneth Stephan Honorable Michael McCormack Honorable Lindsey Miller-Lerman

Supreme Court Caseload			
	2009	2010	
New Cases Docketed	78	59	
Petitions to Bypass Filed Petitions to Bypass Granted Petitions to Bypass Denied	40 25 20	53 34 14	
Cases Transferred from Court of Appeals	102	98	
Petitions for Further Review Filed Petitions for Further Review Granted Petitions for Further Review Denied	270 15 267	270 12 262	
Cases Disposed by Opinion Cases Disposed Without Opinion	223 52	185 35	
Total Cases Disposed	275	220	

Nebraska Court of Appeals

Nebraska Court of Appeals Judges

Chief Judge Everett Inbody

Honorable Richard Sievers Honorable John Irwin Honorable Theodore Carlson Honorable Frankie Moore Honorable William Cassel

Appeals Court Caseload		
	2009	2010
New Cases Docketed	1,236	1,185
Transferred to Supreme Court	102	98
Petitions to Bypass Granted	25	34
Cases Disposed by Opinion	431	348
Total Cases Disposed	1,092	1,093
	1,002	