# The Courts of Nebraska 2011



# Supreme Court and Court of Appeals Annual Caseload Report

Prepared by The Nebraska Supreme Court Administrative Office of Courts/Probation

### Nebraska Supreme Court

#### Nebraska Supreme Court Justices

Chief Justice Michael G. Heavican

Honorable John F. Wright Honorable William Connolly Honorable Kenneth Stephan Honorable Michael McCormack Honorable Lindsey Miller-Lerman

Supreme Court Caseload			
	2010	2011	
New Cases Docketed	59	52	
Petitions to Bypass Filed Petitions to Bypass Granted Petitions to Bypass Denied	53 34 14	43 20 29	
Cases Transferred from Court of Appeals	98	103	
Petitions for Further Review Filed Petitions for Further Review Granted Petitions for Further Review Denied	270 12 262	230 16 214	
Cases Disposed by Opinion Cases Disposed Without Opinion	185 35	160 24	
Total Cases Disposed	220	184	

## Nebraska Court of Appeals

#### Nebraska Court of Appeals Judges

Chief Judge Everett Inbody

Honorable Richard Sievers Honorable John Irwin Honorable Frankie Moore Honorable William Cassel Honorable Michael Pirtle

Appeals Court Caseload			
	2010	2011	
New Cases Docketed	1,185	1,062	
Transferred to Supreme Court	98	103	
Petitions to Bypass Granted	34	20	
Cases Disposed by Opinion	348	338	
Total Cases Disposed	1,093	961	