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LINCOLN — A new state
law intended to allow repeat
drunken drivers to obtain
ignition interlock devicesmore quickly has hit a road-block.

The law allows drunken
drivers who lost their li-censes

for 15 years to apply
immediately for an interlock
device that permits them to
drive during their revoca-tion.

But the applications must
ultimately be approved by
the Nebraska Board of Par-dons,

whose members said
recently they will continuea policy that makes revoked
drivers wait seven years be-fore

they can ask to have the
devices.

Interlocks force drivers
to exhale into a device thatmeasures alcohol levels be-fore

their cars will start. In
recent years, the Nebraska
Legislature has encouraged
widespread use of the de-vicesas a way to increase
public safety while allowing
offenders to drive for work
and other obligations.

Judges have increasingly
ordered interlocks for people
convicted of driving under
the influence, including
those with three or more of-fenses

who have had their li-censes
revoked for 15 years.

When a judge doesn’t or-deran interlock at sentenc-ing,
however, an offender

who wants one must file a re-quest
with the Department of

Motor Vehicles. The depart-ment,
in turn, forwards eli-gible

applicants to the Board
of Pardons, which makes the
final decision on reprieves.

A law that took effect last
month struck the seven-year
waiting period before an ap-plication

can be filed with
the DMV. But Pardons Board
members have broad discre-tion

to set their own policy,
and they said they will re
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fuse to consider applications
that haven’t met the seven-year

standard.
Gov. Dave Heineman, Secre-tary

of State John Gale and
Attorney General Jon Brun-ing,

who make up the board,
said applicants who apply
sooner than seven years will
waste their time and the $ 100
application fee.

“Their chances of getting
a reprieve are slim and none— actually more like none
and none, to be perfectly can-did,”

Heineman said.
Supporters of the new law

argue that withholding igni-tion
interlocks won’t make

roads safer. Reducing drunk-en
driving should take prior-ity

over punishment, they
say.

“Let’s be honest, the
majority of people ( with
revoked licenses) are still
driving,” said State Sen.
Burke Harr of Omaha, who
sponsored the law.“ This is a
way of controlling that. Our
bill says you can drive, but
you’re going to be restrict-ed.”

The 15-year revocation
is reserved for drivers who
have been convicted of DUI
three or more times. There
are about 7,300 people with
the revocations in Nebraska.

A major revamping of
drunken driving law that
took effect in 2012 placed anew emphasis on ignition
interlocks as a way to keep
all offenders from driving
drunk during their proba-tion

or revocation period.
Harr said his law was

identified by a legislative
study as a way to provide
a path, in addition to the
courts, for repeat offenders
to get the devices installed
more quickly.
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The Pardons Board re-
quires seven years of no
driving, seven years of a
clean criminal record and
seven years of sobriety be-
fore granting reprieve re-
quests. Members call it the

7-7-7 policy, and it’s a tough
hurdle to clear.

In 2013, the Pardons Board
granted hearings to 16 peo-ple

seeking reprieves and
approved just two, said par-dons

administrator Sonya
Fauver.

“The board has strict
guidelines,” she said.
“You’ve got to be squeaky
clean, and you’ve got to
prove you’re sober.”

During the board’s meet-ing
last week, DMV Director

Rhonda Lahm told the board
her department already is re-ceiving

questions about thenew law from people with 15-year revocations. Officials
estimate they will receive 80
to 100 applications each year
under the new law.

Lahm asked if the board
intends to consider requests
before the 7-7-7 standard had
been met. All three memberswere resolute in saying they
will adhere to the existing
policy.

Bruning called it“ outra-geous”
that judges allow re-peat

DUI offenders to get be-hind
the wheel after serving

less than seven years of a re-vocation.
Gale, meanwhile,

said he is dismayed by the
myriad ways drunken driv-ing

penalties can seemingly
be lessened.

“There is an industry alive
and well in Nebraska that
constantly seeks to mitigate
and minimize the impact of
drunken driving,” he said.

Heineman said another
problem with the bill is that
it was amended into an om-nibus

package that included
other measures he support-ed.

When Harr later heard the
board railed against his law,
he said he was surprised.

He said he worked closely
with DMV staff members
to draw up the bill. A leg-islative

committee voted
unanimously to advance it
after no one — including the
governor and attorney gen-eral— opposed it at a public
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with DMV staff members
to draw up the bill. A leg-
islative committee voted
unanimously to advance it
after no one — including the
governor and attorney gen-
eral — opposed it at a public

hearing. No senator objected
when the bill was amended
into other legislation.

Harr defended the law asan extension of another law
widely lauded by lawmakers
and signed by Heineman just
three years ago.

“To say this bill is con-troversial
is revisionist his-tory,”

Harr said.“ It’s disap-pointing
to me that, all of a

sudden, after the bill passed,
they have a problem with it.”

Andrea Frazier, program
manager for MADD Nebras-ka,

said her organization
supports the use of ignition
interlocks as a way to reduce
drunken driving by chronic
offenders. But she said she
also respects the discretion
of the Pardons Board.

Lincoln attorney Mark
Rappl said he will advise cli-ents

to think carefully about
applying for a reprieve basedon the board’s comments last
week.
He said ignition interlocksare more than a slap on the
wrist. The offender must pay
for their installation and a
roughly $75 monthly mainte-nance

fee.
Judges cannot allow inter-locks

for 15-year revocations
without first requiring a pe-riod

of no driving. The law
requires a minimum of 45
days, but judges often order
a year or two, Rappl said.

“I understand the dangers
of drinking and driving, but
I would disagree with those
who think interlocks some-how

depreciate the serious-ness
of the offense.”

James Schaefer, an Oma-ha
attorney who has prac-ticed

DUI law for 25 years,
said he’s hopeful the board
may rethink the policy after
a new governor and a new
attorney general take over
from Heineman and Bruning
next year.

“I understand they want
to be tough on crime, so to
speak, but let’s look at it
from a safety standpoint,” he
said.
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