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l. Policy

Date: October 2014

As mandated in Nebraska Revised Statute 20-504(8), any probation officer receiving reports of
racial profiling, unless restricted by privilege, shall report such incidents to the Nebraska
Commission on Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice within 30 days after becoming aware of

such a practice.

1. Purpose

To ensure all reported incidents of racial profiling are reported as mandated by State Statute.
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V. Procedure

A. Definition of Racial Profiling

1.

As defined by Nebraska Revised Statute 20-501, Racial profiling; legislative
intent. Racial profiling is a practice that presents a great danger to the
fundamental principles of a democratic society. It is abhorrent and cannot be
tolerated. An individual who has been detained or whose vehicle has been
stopped by the police for no reason other than the color of his or her skin or his or
her apparent nationality or ethnicity is the victim of a discriminatory practice.

And, (1) Disparate treatment means differential treatment of persons on the basis
of race, color, or national origin; (2) Motor vehicle stop means any stop of a
motor vehicle, except for a stop of a motor truck, truck-tractor, semitrailer,
trailer, or towed vehicle at a state weighing station; and (3) Racial profiling
means detaining an individual or conducting a motor vehicle stop based upon
disparate treatment of an individual.



B.

Response to Allegations of Racial Profiling

1.

On occasion a probation officer may receive information stating an individual
feels they have been unduly arrested or detained based on racial profiling. In this
event, the probation officer shall immediately report such allegations to the
Nebraska Commission on Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice within 30 days
of receiving the report.

a) In the case of a juvenile reporting allegations of racial profiling, the
parent or guardian shall be notified of the report.



