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   On November 30, 2016, the Nebraska Supreme Court adopted the following rule amendments to the 
Admission Requirements for the Practice of Law rules, specifically to Neb. Ct. R. §§ 3-101, 3-114, 3-117, 
3-119, and 3-128: 
 
Article 1: Admission Requirements for the Practice of Law. 
 
§ 3-101. Definitions. 
 
   . . . . 
 
   (P) Full-time practice/practice of law. For purposes of these rules, “practice of law” means: 
 
   . . . . 
 
   (6) In the event that the applicant has not served for a full 5 3 of the last 7 5 years with any of the 
entities listed in subsections (1) through (5) above, for purposes of this section, the applicant may use any 
combination of subsections (1) through (5) above. 
 
   . . . . 
 
§ 3-114. Application for admission by examination applicants. 
 
   . . . . 
 
   (G) Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE) scores. MPRE scores must be on 
file by the application deadline of November 1 for the following February examination and April March 1 
for the following July examination. The scaled score of 85 is required for a passing grade. If the MPRE 
score is not on file by the application deadline, the late fee applies. 
 
   . . . . 
 
§ 3-117. Examination. 
 
   . . . . 
 
   (G) Stale scores. Passing scores on the UBE, non-UBE qualifying bar exams, and the MPRE will be 
accepted for admission in Nebraska no longer than 5 3 years after the release of the passing score. 
 
   . . . . 
 
   (I) Notice to applicant. The Court shall notify, in writing, each applicant whether he or she has passed 
or failed the examination. All applicants who are approved by the Court will be admitted to practice upon 
taking the oath prescribed by law. and by filing an executed oath card with the Attorney Services Division 
of the Nebraska Supreme Court. No applicant shall be admitted as a licensed attorney in Nebraska until he 
or she has returned an executed oath card to the Attorney Services Division of the Nebraska Supreme 
Court. 
 
   . . . . 
 
§ 3-119. Application for admission by attorney/Class 1-A, 1-B, and 1-C motion applicants. 
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   Each applicant will be required to execute under oath a thorough application and to sign an 
authorization and release form that extends to the Commission and to any persons or institutions 
supplying information thereto. The applicant will be informed of the consequences of failing to produce 
information requested by the application and of making material omissions or misrepresentations. 
(Appendix A). 
 
  . . . .  
 
   (B) Class 1-B applicants. Class 1-B applicants who may be admitted to practice in Nebraska upon 
approval of a proper application are those: 
 
   (1) who have been licensed and are active and in good standing before the highest court of another state, 
territory, or district of the United States preceding application for admission to the bar of Nebraska and 
have actively and substantially engaged in the practice of law in another state, territory, or district of the 
United States for 5 of the 7 3 of the 5 years immediately preceding application for admission; and 
 
  . . . . 
 
   (F) Applications for admission on motion and the required fees shall be submitted as provided under § 
3-114(A) and (C). 
 
   (G) Fingerprints. All applicants are required to submit fingerprints as provided under § 3-114(H). 
 
   (F) (H) Reciprocity. Reciprocity is not an essential element of admission by motion in Nebraska. 
 
  . . . . 
 
§ 3-128. Admission/oath or affirmation Swearing in of applicants. 
 
   (A) Admission/oath or affirmation. The oath or affirmation upon admission is as follows: “You do 
solemnly swear that you will support the Constitution of the United States, and the Constitution of this 
state, and that you will faithfully discharge the duties of an attorney and counselor, according to the best 
of your ability.” No applicant shall be admitted as a licensed attorney in Nebraska until he or she has 
returned an executed oath card to the Attorney Services Division of the Nebraska Supreme Court. 
 
   (B) Swearing in Ceremonies. Exam applicants shall be sworn in at the Supreme Court sponsored 
ceremonies held in April (for February applicants) and September (for July applicants). 
 
   (1) No exam applicant may be sworn in before the date of the Supreme Court ceremony that 
corresponds to the bar exam taken by the applicant. Exam applicants who are not able to attend the 
Supreme Court ceremonies may be sworn in by a judge or clerk of any federal, state, or county court 
within any jurisdiction of the United States. 
 
   (2) Applicants admitted on motion may be sworn in by a judge or clerk of any federal, state, or county 
court within any jurisdiction of the United States. 
 
   (C) Time limit. No applicant shall be permitted to take the oath or affirmation required for licensing 
more than 120 days after the date the Supreme Court approved the applicant for admission. After 120 
days, an applicant is required to re-apply for admission by submitting full payment, fingerprints, a new 
application, and all required documents as provided in this rule. 
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   (D) Duty to Supplement. All applicants have a continuous duty to disclose any change in information 
reported on the application for admission when he or she discovers the initial response though correct 
when made is no longer true and the circumstances are such that a failure to amend the response is in 
substance a knowing concealment. 
 
  . . . . 


