Exceptional Judicial Branch Employees Recognized by Chief Justice Heavican During 10th Annual Awards Celebration

Exceptional Judicial Branch Employees Recognized by Chief Justice Heavican During 10th Annual Awards Celebration

Friday, September 28, 2018

Chief Justice of the Nebraska Supreme Court, Mike Heavican, presented 12 Employee Recognition Awards to individuals and team members on September 27, 2018, during the Nebraska Judicial Branch tenth annual recognition event.

The Employee Recognition Committee selected nine individuals and three teams from the nominations submitted. Candidates for the awards were chosen and nominated by their supervisors and colleagues in the courts and probation offices where they work. The purpose of the program is to recognize ongoing court and probation employee dedication, acknowledge exemplary contributions, and encourage employee commitment.

Employees were honored by Chief Justice Mike Heavican, Deputy Court Administrator Judy Beutler, and Probation Administrator Ellen Fabian Brokofsky with a ceremony in the Warner Chamber of the Nebraska State Capitol. The awards are the highest honors given by the Nebraska Supreme Court recognizing exemplary performance by court and probation employees in the Nebraska Judicial System. There are over 1,700 employees in the judicial system in court and probation offices statewide. The 2018 Award Recipients include:

Employee of the Year:  Monica Miles-Steffens, Director of Placement, Juvenile Court Services, Probation Administration

Outstanding Customer Service in the Courts:  County Court Information Specialists (Angie Lewandowski, Hamilton County Clerk Magistrate Judicial District 5; Rachel Olson, Washington County Records Clerk, Judicial District 6; Diana Wehrman, Nuckolls County Clerk Magistrate, Judicial District 10; Michele Woods, Kimball County Clerk Magistrate, Judicial District 12)

Outstanding County Court Staff:  Sara Gunderson, Assistant Clerk I, Dakota County Court

Outstanding County Court Supervisor:  Pat Veburg, Assistant Clerk II, Hall County Court

Outstanding County Court Clerk Magistrate:  Lisa Stover, Clerk Magistrate, Dodge County Court

Outstanding Clerk of the District Court:  Jacquelyn Stewart, Clerk, Seward County District Court (Marjorie Schaffer Memorial Award)

Innovation:  Ashley Nolte, Administrative Assistant, Nebraska Supreme Court

Diversity Leadership: Inclusive Communities Work Group (Christine Christopherson, Director of Judicial Branch Education; Julie Kindler, Probation Program Development Manager, Juvenile Services Division; Matt Lewis, Court Improvement Project Specialist; Monica Miles-Steffens, Director Probation Juvenile Placement; Jerid Wedige, Judicial Branch Education Probation Training Director)

Outstanding Probation Officer:  Larissa Funk, Juvenile Specialized Probation Officer, District 7 Probation (LaDonna Snell Memorial Award)

Outstanding Probation Supervisor:  Marty Metschke, Reporting Center Coordinator, District 1 Probation (Bob Keller Memorial Award)

Outstanding Administrative Employee:  Abbie Christian, ICJ Deputy Compact Administrator and Compact Coordinator, Probation Administration

Outstanding Team: Lancaster County Drug Testing Unit, District 3A Reporting Center (DeRance Chandler, Justin Hardiman, Kylie Jesionowicz, Angelica Menendez, Edwin Quintanilla, Blanca Rincon-Flores, Shawn Schneider)


Photo: 2018 Award Recipients

Front Row: Julie Kindler, Ashley Nolte, Sara Gunderson, Angelica Menendez, Chief Justice Heavican, Abbie Christian, Pat Veburg, Justin Hardiman, Shawn Schneider, Rachel Olson

Middle Row: Larissa Funk, Monica Miles-Steffens, Lisa Stover, Christine Christopherson, Jacquelyn Stewart, Blanca Rincon-Flores, Kylie Jesionowicz, Diana Wehrman, Angie Lewandowski

Back row: Marty Metschke, Jerid Wedige, Edwin Quintanilla, DeRance Chandler, Michele Woods

Not pictured: Matt Lewis