Judicial Resources to Hold October 23 Hearing

Judicial Resources to Hold October 23 Hearing

Wednesday, September 26, 2018

The Judicial Resources Commission will hold a public hearing on Tuesday, October 23, 2018, beginning at 10:00 a.m. central daylight time, at the State Capitol Building, Room 1510, Lincoln, Nebraska. The purpose of the hearing is to determine, pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 24-1204 and 1206, whether a judicial vacancy exists in the following location:

  1. Office of district court of the 9th Judicial District, due to the retirement of Judge William T. Wright effective September 30th, 2018, and if so to make a recommendation to the Supreme Court as to the primary place of office of said vacancy.

The public hearing will include videoconferencing from the following sites: (1) Omaha Downtown Vocational Rehabilitation Office, 1313 Farnam on the Mall, 3rd Floor SE Corner, Omaha, Nebraska; (2) North Platte Vocational Rehabilitation Office, 200 S. Silber, Building 2, North Platte, Nebraska; (3) Mid-Plains Community College, Walsh Brady Building, 1205 East 5th, room 215, McCook, Nebraska; and (4) Central Community College, Adams Building, 3500 South Military Drive, room 115, Hastings, Nebraska. Please note the videoconferencing sites will not be used to receive public testimony.

Any member of the public wishing to present oral testimony before the Judicial Resources Commission may do so by attending the public hearing in Room 1510 of the State Capitol, Lincoln, Nebraska. Any member of the public wishing to present written testimony or other pertinent information to the commission may do so by mailing it to the commission Chair no later than October 16, 2018 at the following address: State Capitol Building, Room 2219, Lincoln, NE 68509, or e-mailing it to: Dawn.Mussmann@nebraska.gov

Following the hearing, the Commission will make a recommendation to the Legislature of its determination.

Commission members are:

Honorable Stephanie F. Stacy, Chair  
Stephen Bader, Bellevue Honorable Anne M. Paine, McCook
Charles E. Conrad, Hastings Robert J. Parker, Hastings 
William Dittrick, Omaha Brian Phares, North Platte  
Timothy R. Engler, Lincoln Honorable John E. Samson, Blair 
Coby Mach, Lincoln             Lori Scherer, Beemer 
Michael J. McCarthy, North Platte

Mark M. Sipple, Columbus

Christopher Nielsen, Omaha Robert Slovek, Omaha
Honorable Robert B. O’Neal, Papillion Darlene Starman, Lincoln

For special accommodations relating to the Americans with Disabilities Act, please call (402) 471-3730. For persons with hearing impairments, please call the Nebraska Relay System at 711.