Judicial Resources Commission to Hold Annual Meeting December 14

Judicial Resources Commission to Hold Annual Meeting December 14

The Judicial Resources Commission will hold its Annual Meeting, which includes a public hearing, on Thursday, December 14, 2023, at 1:00 p.m. central standard time, in Room 1507 of the State Capitol Building in Lincoln, Nebraska.


PUBLIC HEARING: The Commission will receive testimony, both in-person and in writing, on the following agenda items:

  1. Whether a new judgeship is appropriate in any judicial district;
  2. Whether a reduction in judgeships is appropriate in any judicial district;
  3. Whether the judicial district boundaries or the number of judicial districts should be changed for the district or county courts;
  4. Whether, based on an examination of current caseload statistics, the Judicial Resources Commission should make any appropriate recommendations for the more balanced use of existing judicial resources.

ATTENDANCE OPTIONS: Members of the public have the option of attending the proceedings either in-person at the State Capitol, or via Zoom.

PUBLIC TESTIMONY OPTIONS: Those wishing to present testimony during the public hearing may either (1) appear in person at the State Capitol and sign in as a witness, or (2) submit written testimony in advance of the hearing by emailing it to: Dawn.Mussmann@nejudicial.gov or by mailing it postage pre-paid to: Judicial Resources Commission, State Capitol Building, P.O. Box 98910, Lincoln, NE 68509. To be considered by the Commission, any written testimony must be received no later than December 12, 2023. All written testimony submitted by the deadline will be marked as an exhibit, received at the hearing, and made available to the public.

Members of the Judicial Resources Commission are:

Honorable Stephanie F. Stacy, Chair   
Timothy R. Engler, Lincoln  Honorable Anne M. Paine, McCook
Taylor Gage, Lincoln Robert Parker, Hastings
Cydnianne Hall, Papillion Brian Phares, North Platte
Ken Hartman, Omaha Meagan Spomer, Omaha
Honorable Matthew R. Kahler, Omaha Darlene Starman, Lincoln
Roxanne Kracl, Fremont Ron Temple, Norfolk
Nancy McCabe, Omaha Jacqueline Tessendorf, Columbus
Honorable Travis P. O’Gorman, Alliance Maria Whitmore, Shelby

For reasonable accommodations relating to the Americans with Disabilities Act, please call (402) 471-3730. For persons who are deaf or hard of hearing, please call the Nebraska Relay System at 711.