Nebraska Trial Judges Associations Elect New Presidents

Nebraska Trial Judges Associations Elect New Presidents

Nebraska trial judges installed new association presidents during their annual meetings in late October. Presidential terms began on October 20, 2023.

The associations and their newly appointed presidents are:

Nebraska County Judges Association – Hon. Jeffrey M. Wightman, Lexington (top photo)

Nebraska Separate Juvenile Judges Association – Hon. Mary M. Z. Stevens, Omaha (middle photo)

Nebraska District Judges Association – Hon. Jodi L. Nelson, Lincoln (bottom photo)

Each will serve until October 2024.

Judges' associations allow courts to network, problem-solve, and share innovations across the state. Their goal is to educate one another on national, state, and local issues; and discuss ways to function within the Judicial Branch of government more efficiently. Judge association presidents work closely with the Chief Justice of the Nebraska Supreme Court and the Administrative Office of the Courts and Probation.

Association presidents have the power to appoint specialized committees and operate with their elected executive committees.