Celebrating Problem-Solving Court Month and Graduation in Butler County

Celebrating Problem-Solving Court Month and Graduation in Butler County

On April 30, 2024, the Butler County Problem-Solving Court celebrated the graduation of Robin Kortan, Julie Albers, Kristi Vandenberg, Christopher Puller, and Tyler Sharping in David City. Judge Tina Marroquin presided over the ceremony. In attendance were Butler County Board Members, District 5 Probation Staff, and friends and family of the graduates.

Earlier that morning, the dedication of Nebraska problem-solving courts took center stage as the Judicial Branch officially designated May as Nebraska Problem-Solving Court Month. The graduation ceremony commenced with Chief Justice Michael Heavican signing the Problem-Solving Court proclamation. The ceremony marks the completion of an intensive program of comprehensive mental health treatment, intensive community supervision, and full accountability for the graduates. It serves as a momentous occasion where both past and present participants of the problem-solving court program reflect on their triumphs and challenges. It is a time for people to come together and celebrate their accomplishments.

Problem-Solving Courts are an alternate route through the criminal justice system for nonviolent drug-related offenders which utilizes a specialized team process that functions within the existing court structure. The courts are designed to achieve a reduction in recidivism and substance use among individuals with substance use disorders. The court’s goal is to protect public safety and increase the participant’s likelihood of successful rehabilitation by utilizing validated risk and need assessments, early and individualized behavioral health treatment, frequent and random chemical testing, incentives, sanctions, and other rehabilitative and ancillary services.

For additional information, please contact:

Sarah Ryba, Problem-Solving Court Coordinator

Phone: (402) 563-4910           Email: sarah.ryba@nejudicial.gov


Photos (top to bottom):  Judge Tina Marroquin with graduates Robin Kortan, Julie Albers, Kristi Vandenberg, Christopher Pullen, and Tylor Sharping.