Nebraska Trial Judges Associations Elect New Presidents

Nebraska Trial Judges Associations Elect New Presidents

Thursday, October 10, 2019

Nebraska’s trial judges’ associations installed new presidents during their annual meetings in LaVista on October 10, 2019.

The associations and their newly appointed presidents are:

  • Nebraska District Judges Association – Judge Thomas A. Otepka, Omaha
  • Nebraska County Judges Association – Judge Michael P. Burns, Hastings; and
  • Nebraska Separate Juvenile Judges Association – Judge Reggie Ryder, Lincoln.

Each will serve until October 2020.

Judges associations allow courts to network, problem-solve and share innovations across the state. Their goal is to educate one another on national, state and local issues; and discuss ways to more efficiently function within the Judicial Branch of government. Judge association presidents work closely with the Chief Justice of the Nebraska Supreme Court and with the Office of the State Court Administrator.

Association presidents have the power to appoint specialized committees and operate with their elected executive committees.