Statewide Register of Interpreters

Statewide Register of Interpreters

Court Staff, Probation Staff and Court-Ordered Mediation

If an interpreter is needed during business hours, court and probation personnel need to email all interpreter requests to the Operations Team with the county name in the subject line.  Court and probation personnel should not be contacting the interpreters directly and scheduling interpreter services. The only exception is for unplanned probation needs outside of normal business hours.

The initial request needs to contain all the following information:

  • Language
  • Date
  • Start time of all court ordered meetings/hearings or probation activities
  • Name
  • Case Number
  • Charges
  • Courtroom #
  • Hearing Type
  • Judge's Name
  • Attorney's Name and/or PO's Name
  • Meeting Type (PSI, PDI, FTM…)
  • Expected Duration
  • Address where the interpreter needs to go
  • Contact person info

Court personnel should follow this formal request process even if the judge or clerk magistrate asked the interpreter on the record if they are available for the next court date.  This will ensure the Language Access Program can confirm an interpreter has been scheduled and ensure they are paid for their services. ​

Attorneys

The Language Access Program does not pay interpreters used to facilitate communication between an attorney and client outside of the hearing.  Interpreters can assist with brief conversations if time allows.  As a rule, attorneys should contract with interpreters when they need to meet with their clients to discuss their case, court processes, and strategy.  Use the Statewide Register of Interpreters to reach out to the interpreters for their current rates and availability. 

“To address these needs, the Nebraska Legislature, under the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) of 2021 and LB1014, set aside $500,000 in federal funds for Fiscal Years 2022-23 and 2023-24 to reimburse expenses incurred in the provision of qualified, licensed sign language interpreters (whether on-site or remote) throughout the state (including Lincoln and Omaha) to provide effective communication access services between attorneys and deaf, deafblind, or hard of hearing individuals outside of the courtroom.”  Click here for more information or contact the Nebraska Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing.  

Mental Health Board Hearings, Non-Court Ordered Mediation and State agencies

The Language Access Program does not pay for the interpreter when they are needed for Mental Health Board hearings, non-court ordered mediation or by other state agencies.  Use the Statewide Register of Interpreters to reach out to the interpreters for their current rates and availability.  

Workers Compensation Court

The Language Access Program will pay for the interpreter, but it is the employer’s obligation to schedule the interpreter.  Use the Statewide Register of Interpreters to find and secure an interpreter.  Please note that the Nebraska Supreme Court rule on interpreter payment rate must be adhered to, otherwise payment may be denied.    

Language Name Type Citysort descending Phone Email
Spanish Vladimir Bazan Certified Lincoln, NE 402-805-0197 NElanguageservices@gmail.com
Russian Victoria Welles Certified Lincoln,, NE 402-770-1176 welles.victoria@gmail.com
Laotian, Thai Joseph Tasma Other Livonia, MI 419-973-4995 thai2michigan@aol.com
Akateco, Chuj, Q'anjobal Juan de Juan Mateo Other Los Angeles, CA 213-247-4247 brllense55@att.net
Akateco, Q'anjobal, Chuj Victor Enrique Lopez Diego Other Los Angeles, CA 213-725-6567 mayaspirit55@gmail.com
Slovak, Czech Adam Zahradnik Other Malaysia, 6012-988-0638 adam.zahradnik89@gmail.com
Nepali Puspa Luitel Other Mason, OH 513-834-0190 puspaluitel20@gmail.com
Spanish Teresa Ost Certified Matlacha, FL 239-471-4900 teresaost@mac.com
Romanian Tatiana Narzarco Certified Mercer Island, WA 206-619-5655 tnazarco@hotmail.com
Chatino Albino Cruz Vasquez Other Mexico, 011-52-1-9511250371 binovasquez@hotmail.com
Hatian Creole Fabie Bodek Certified Miami, FL 786-253-5322 fbodek@msn.com
Somali Abdi Elmi Certified Minneapolis, MN 612-423-1022 agelmi02@gmail.com
Oromo, Amharic Addisu Aedu Other Minneapolis, MN 612-426-1209 addma1937@gmail.com
Russian Iouri Surnik Certified Minneapolis, MN 612-203-0908 isinstitute@hotmail.com
Ukrainian Iouri Surnik Other Minneapolis, MN 612-203-0908 isinstitute@hotmail.com
Spanish Sarah Sosa Certified Mitchell, NE 308-641-5838 sarah.sosa@vistabeam.com
Albanian Anila Mayhew Other New London, OH 509-302-8962 anila@albanianexpert.com
Hmong Tou Houa Lee Certified Oakdale, MN 651-442-7014 mdy32012@gmail.com
Tajik, Persian/Farsi/Dari Gila Khabbaza Other Odenton, MD 917-837-6902 langnyc@aol.com
Arabic Gila Khabbaza Certified Odenton, MD 917-837-6902 langnyc@aol.com
Korean Young Lee Certified Olympia, WA 360-789-3186 younglee777@comcast.net
Spanish Frankie MacGregor Certified Omaha, NE 402-905-8535
Chinese Mandarin Wei Whitbeck Registered Omaha, NE 402-556-3661 wei.whitbeck@gmail.com
Burmese, Hakha Chin Rose Shee Other Omaha, NE 402-591-0248 roseshee95@gmail.com
Spanish Caden Tait Certified Omaha, NE 719-373-7862 caden.tait@lumeninterpreting.com

Pages