Statewide Register of Interpreters

Statewide Register of Interpreters

Court Staff, Probation Staff and Court-Ordered Mediation

If an interpreter is needed during business hours, court and probation personnel need to email all interpreter requests to the Operations Team with the county name in the subject line.  Court and probation personnel should not be contacting the interpreters directly and scheduling interpreter services. The only exception is for unplanned probation needs outside of normal business hours.

The initial request needs to contain all the following information:

  • Language
  • Date
  • Start time of all court ordered meetings/hearings or probation activities
  • Name
  • Case Number
  • Charges
  • Courtroom #
  • Hearing Type
  • Judge's Name
  • Attorney's Name and/or PO's Name
  • Meeting Type (PSI, PDI, FTM…)
  • Expected Duration
  • Address where the interpreter needs to go
  • Contact person info

Court personnel should follow this formal request process even if the judge or clerk magistrate asked the interpreter on the record if they are available for the next court date.  This will ensure the Language Access Program can confirm an interpreter has been scheduled and ensure they are paid for their services. ​

Attorneys

The Language Access Program does not pay interpreters used to facilitate communication between an attorney and client outside of the hearing.  Interpreters can assist with brief conversations if time allows.  As a rule, attorneys should contract with interpreters when they need to meet with their clients to discuss their case, court processes, and strategy.  Use the Statewide Register of Interpreters to reach out to the interpreters for their current rates and availability. 

“To address these needs, the Nebraska Legislature, under the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) of 2021 and LB1014, set aside $500,000 in federal funds for Fiscal Years 2022-23 and 2023-24 to reimburse expenses incurred in the provision of qualified, licensed sign language interpreters (whether on-site or remote) throughout the state (including Lincoln and Omaha) to provide effective communication access services between attorneys and deaf, deafblind, or hard of hearing individuals outside of the courtroom.”  Click here for more information or contact the Nebraska Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing.  

Mental Health Board Hearings, Non-Court Ordered Mediation and State agencies

The Language Access Program does not pay for the interpreter when they are needed for Mental Health Board hearings, non-court ordered mediation or by other state agencies.  Use the Statewide Register of Interpreters to reach out to the interpreters for their current rates and availability.  

Workers Compensation Court

The Language Access Program will pay for the interpreter, but it is the employer’s obligation to schedule the interpreter.  Use the Statewide Register of Interpreters to find and secure an interpreter.  Please note that the Nebraska Supreme Court rule on interpreter payment rate must be adhered to, otherwise payment may be denied.    

Language Name Typesort descending City Phone Email
Burmese, Karen Sunkist Judson Other Omaha, NE 531-215-3299 skhjudson@gmail.com
Amharic, Tigrinya, Italian Noel Abraham Other Hawthorene, CA 310-500-6131 ndabraha@gmail.com
Dinka, Sudanese Arabic Elizabeth Ajongo Other Omaha, NE 402-301-0904 ebajongo@gmail.com
Thai Chinnapat Wirachakul Other Omaha, NE 402-319-7610 cwirachakul@gmail.com
Persian/Farsi/Dari, Urdu Saira Babagul Other Lincoln, NE 402-470-7642 Paravana1200@yahoo.com
German, Romanian Ioana Paulat Other Portland, OR 360-421-7523 ioana_paulat@comcast.net
Laotian, Thai Tamni Sundling Other Alda, NE 308-382-0887 tamnisgarden@gmail.com
Akateco, Q'anjobal Juana Diego Other Omaha, NE 402-378-0437 juana.diego59@gmail.com
Korean Lee Pankowski Other Omaha, NE 402-250-2652 leepankowski@gmail.com
Slovak, Czech Adam Zahradnik Other Malaysia, 6012-988-0638 adam.zahradnik89@gmail.com
Marshallese Barbara Fisher Other Clemson, SC 864-873-8387 barbericfish@gmail.com
Nepali Yadu Sapkota Other Omaha, NE 402-301-4782 yadusapkota@yahoo.com
Russian, Ukrainian Oleg Stepanyuk Other Lincoln, NE 402-610-2618 Olegstepanyuk.hop@gmail.com
Greek Ellie Koteas Other Astoria, NY 917-704-7513 koteasekdirect@aol.com
Ukrainian Iouri Surnik Other Minneapolis, MN 612-203-0908 isinstitute@hotmail.com
Oromo, Amharic Addisu Aedu Other Minneapolis, MN 612-426-1209 addma1937@gmail.com
Vietnamese Maizyen Nguyen Other Lincoln, NE 402-304-5327 maimailbx@gmail.com
Malayalam Matthew Vathalloor Other Elmont, NY 516-592-2767 Vathalloor@icloud.com
Somali Barre Hassan Other Lexington, NE 402-314-9974 barrehassan26@gmail.com
Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian Elvis Acic Other Lincoln, NE 402-202-5819 elvisacic@aol.com
Arabic, Kurdish, Sudanese Arabic Salim Merza Other Lincoln, NE 402-321-3361 salim.merza@outlook.com
American Sign Language Kathy Rocco Other Omaha, NE 402-201-7704 krocco1@cox.net
Uzbek, Russian Zarina Usmanova Other Omaha, NE 402-214-9023 zarinakhon@gmail.com
Chinese Mandarin Leslie Shi Other Omaha, NE 402-617-4876 shiyunzhe123@gmail.com
Albanian Sami Miloshi Other Brockton, MA 402-515-0229 sami.milloshi@gmail.com

Pages