Nine Submit their Names for Separate Juvenile Court Judge in Sarpy County

Nine Submit their Names for Separate Juvenile Court Judge in Sarpy County

Tuesday, July 13, 2021

LINCOLN – Joseph C. Byam, Jonathon D. Crosby, Lisa M. Gonzalez, Sarah M. Moore, Patrick R. Runge, all of Omaha; Katrine M. Herrboldt, Karen S. Nelson, Sarah M. Sutter, Jennifer A. Thompson, all of Papillion, have submitted applications for appointment as Separate Juvenile Court Judge in Sarpy County. The primary place of office for the judicial vacancy is Papillion, Sarpy County, Nebraska. The vacancy is due to the retirement of Judge Lawrence D. Gendler.

The public hearing of the Judicial Nominating Commission will be held via WebEx at the Sarpy County Court, Courtroom #4, 1210 Golden Gate Drive, Papillion, Nebraska, beginning at 10:00 a.m. on Monday, August 2, 2021. All commission members and applicants will be participating in this hearing via WebEx.  The public hearing will be available for viewing on NET at the following link on the date of the hearing: Nebraska Educational Television's Live & On Demand: State Government website.

Any member of the public wishing to present testimony for the commission’s consideration may do so one of two ways:

  1. Written testimony provided in advance:  Those wishing to present written testimony or other pertinent information may do so by mailing the information to the Commission Chair no later than July 26, 2021, at the following address: Justice Freudenberg, Nebraska Supreme Court, PO Box 98910, Lincoln, NE 68509 or email it to    
  2. Oral testimony offered during the hearing:  Those wishing to present oral testimony may do so by attending the public hearing in courtroom #4 of the Sarpy County Court, Papillion, Nebraska.  All persons attending should be prepared for staggered admittance and restricted seating in order to maintain appropriate social distancing and comply with any directed health measures in effect. 

A listing of the members of the Judicial Nominating Commission can be found on the Nebraska Judicial Branch Web site at

For special accommodations relating to the Americans with Disabilities Act, please call (402) 471-3730.  For persons who are deaf or hard of hearing, please call the Nebraska Relay System, 7-1-1. AA/EOE.