Seven Submit their Names for County Court Judge in the Second Judicial District

Seven Submit their Names for County Court Judge in the Second Judicial District

Friday, July 8, 2022

LINCOLN – James M. Buchanan, Ronald S. Earl, Peter A. Pirsch, Bree Robbins, all of Omaha; Gage R. Cobb, Nicole R. Hutter, both of Gretna; and S. Colin Palm, Plattsmouth, have submitted applications for appointment as County Court Judge in the 2nd Judicial District consisting of Cass, Otoe, and Sarpy counties. The primary place of office for the judicial vacancy is Papillion, Sarpy County, Nebraska. The vacancy is due to the retirement of Judge Robert C. Wester.

The public hearing of the Judicial Nominating Commission will be held in the Sarpy County Boardroom, 1210 Golden Gate Drive (2nd floor, east side of Administration Wing) in Papillion, Nebraska, beginning at 1:30 p.m. on Thursday, July 28, 2022. The Commission will interview all applicants for the office at that time. 

Any member of the public wishing to present testimony for the commission’s consideration may do so one of two ways:

  1. Written testimony provided in advance:  Those wishing to present written testimony or other pertinent information may do so by mailing the information to the Commission Chair no later than July 21, 2022, at the following address: Justice Miller-Lerman, Nebraska Supreme Court, PO Box 98910, Lincoln, NE 68509 or email it to    
  2. Oral testimony offered during the hearing:  Those wishing to present oral testimony may do so by attending the public hearing in the Sarpy County Boardroom of the Sarpy County Court, Papillion, Nebraska.  All persons attending should be prepared for staggered admittance and restricted seating in order to maintain appropriate social distancing and comply with any directed health measures in effect. 

A listing of the members of the Judicial Nominating Commission can be found on the Nebraska Judicial Branch Web site at

For special accommodations relating to the Americans with Disabilities Act, please call (402) 471-3730.  For persons who are deaf or hard of hearing, please call the Nebraska Relay System, 7-1-1. AA/EOE.