Seventeen Submit their Names for Separate Juvenile Court Judge, Douglas County

Seventeen Submit their Names for Separate Juvenile Court Judge, Douglas County

Wednesday, July 15, 2020

LINCOLN –  Anthony J. Clowe, Jonathon D. Crosby, Lisa M. Gonzalez, Anthony M. Hernandez III, Ann C. Mangiameli, Sarah M. Moore, Candice J. Novak, Damilola J. Oluyole, Patrick R. Runge, LaShawn D. Sayers Young, Joni R. Scheef, Lauren A. Walag, Nicholas E. Wurth, Jordan L. Zendejas, all of Omaha; Joseph E. Kuehl, Elkhorn; Karine E. Sokpoh, Bennington; and Eric M. Stott, Riverton, Utah, have submitted applications for appointment as Separate Juvenile Court Judge in Douglas County. The primary place of office for the judicial vacancy is Omaha, Douglas County, Nebraska. The vacancy is due to the retirement of Judge Christopher E. Kelly.

The public hearing of the Judicial Nominating Commission will be held via WebEx at the Douglas County District Court, Courtroom #412, 1701 Farnam Street, Omaha, Nebraska, beginning at 9:30 a.m. on Tuesday, August 4, 2020. The Commission will review all applicants for the office at that time.  The public hearing will be available for viewing on NET at the following link on the date of the hearing:   Nebraska Educational Television's Live & On Demand: State Government website.

Any member of the public wishing to present testimony for the Commission’s consideration may do so one of two ways:

  1. Written testimony provided in advance:  Those wishing to present written testimony or other pertinent information may do so by mailing the information to the Commission Chair no later than July 28, 2020, at the following address: Justice Freudenberg, Nebraska Supreme Court, PO Box 98910, Lincoln, NE 68509 or email it to   
  2. Oral testimony offered during the hearing:  Those wishing to present oral testimony may do so by attending the public hearing in courtroom #412 of the Douglas County District Court, Omaha, Nebraska.  All persons attending should be prepared for staggered admittance and restricted seating in order to maintain appropriate social distancing. 

A listing of the members of the Judicial Nominating Commission can be found on the Nebraska Judicial Branch Web site at

For special accommodations relating to the Americans with Disabilities Act, please call (402) 471-3730.  For persons who are deaf or hard of hearing, please call the Nebraska Relay System, 7-1-1. AA/EOE.