§ 3-1204. Discipline and other applicable requirements.

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

§ 3-1204. Discipline and other applicable requirements.

   (A) A lawyer registered under Neb. Ct. R. §§ 3-1201 to 3-1204 shall be subject to the disciplinary authority of this state to the same extent as lawyers licensed to practice law in the State of Nebraska.

   (B) A lawyer registered under Neb. Ct. R. §§ 3-1201 to 3-1204 shall immediately inform the Counsel for Discipline of the Nebraska Supreme Court in writing of any disciplinary action commenced or any discipline or sanction imposed against the lawyer in any other jurisdiction.

   (C) A lawyer who fails to register with the Nebraska Supreme Court as in-house counsel or fails to seek admission to the Nebraska State Bar Association within 90 days of beginning employment with an employer who meets the requirements of Neb. Ct. R. §§ 3-1201 to 3-1204 or within 90 days of January 1, 2020, or a lawyer who fail to renew current in-house counsel registration by March 1 shall be:

   (1) Subject to professional discipline in this jurisdiction, including referral to Counsel on the Unauthorized Practice of Law pursuant to Neb. Ct. R. § 3-1012;

   (2) Referred by the Counsel for Discipline of the Nebraska Supreme Court to the disciplinary authority of the jurisdictions of licensure; and

   (3) Ineligible for admission on motion in the State of Nebraska.

§ 3-1204(C) amended April 10, 2013; § 3-1204(C) and (C)(1) amended December 18, 2019, effective January 1, 2020.